Thoughts on the Game8 JP Tier List 7/7/15


Changes from last week: Vegito S→A+, Parvati A+→A, Sarasvati A+→A
S 2012 - Awoken Ra2011 - Awoken Bastet1901 - 最強装備, Juggler1955 - Awoken Lakshmi1954 - Awoken Shiva2030 - Cloud & ハーディ=デイトナ
A+ 1747 - Sparkling Goddess of Secrets, Kali1937 - 最強戦士・超ベジット1947 - Lightning Red Dragonbound, Gadius1664 - God of Dark Riches, Osiris2013 - Awoken Anubis1001 - Deathly Hell Deity Jackal, Anubis1951 - Tome-Creating White Phantom Demon, Ilm1847 - 黒天の幻龍王・Zaerog∞
A 1736 - Wailing Bleak Night Goddess, Pandora1956 - Awoken Parvati1953 - Enraged Black Phantom Demon, Zuoh1672 - Norn of the Present, Verdandi1674 - Norn of the Future, Skuld1371 - Crazed King of Purgatory, Beelzebub1645 - Marvelous Red Dragon Caller, Sonia1666 - Sacred Life Goddess, Hathor2009 - Awoken Horus1760 - Dawning Dragon Caller, Sonia Gran2080 - 知徳の麗女神, Sarasvati


Changes from last week: None
S 1726 - Awoken Hinokagutsuchi1743 - Restrained Dragon Hero, Liu Bei859 - ドスバギィ&バギィネコ2078 - 劫火の威女神, Kali1747 - Sparkling Goddess of Secrets, Kali1738 - 覇征の龍武王, Cao Cao
A+ 2146 - 金風の碧龍喚士, Kaede2010 - Awoken Isis1557 - Dancing Flame, Amaterasu Ohkami1561 - 超サイヤ人第三段階・トランクス1926 - Heaven-Shaking Thunderdragon, Indra1947 - Lightning Red Dragonbound, Gadius1953 - Enraged Black Phantom Demon, Zuoh1902 - 究極装備 Thief1733 - Blue Chain Starsea Goddess, Andromeda1734 - Green Star Vanquishing Deity, Perseus1736 - Wailing Bleak Night Goddess, Pandora1373 - Genius Sleeping Dragon, Zhuge Liang1670 - Norn of the Past, Urd1674 - Norn of the Future, Skuld1672 - Norn of the Present, Verdandi
A 2180 - 平定の黄泉神, Izanami2073 - Awoken Leilan2081 - Divine Creator of Order, Vishnu1269 - Banishing Claw Byakko, Haku1903 - 究極装備, Time Mage2075 - Awoken Meimei2094 - Phoenix Rider Valen1887 - 幸七羽毛・ヘッドロココ1741 - Soaring Dragon General, Sun Quan1556 - Demon Slayer, Susano no Mikoto

The Game8 list.

I actually wanted this to be a monthly post, revisiting Game8’s ranking after enough time had passed for significant changes to occur. Sadly, I miscalculated. I thought they were going to make a new post every week so I could revisit old ones; instead they are updating the same page and not keeping a history. Sadly, I couldn’t find a list from a month ago recorded anywhere, so instead of doing a direct analysis of the changes I’ll be winging it. I’ll be capturing the rankings in these posts so I can do the comparisons in the future.


Get New Anime, Lose PAD Power Level

1937 - 最強戦士・超ベジット
Vegito was bumped out of S rank to A+. This is where my poor Japanese and Google’s inability to assist really hurts as it seems like they tried to explain why they did so. I won’t speculate on what they said, but I think the reason is quite simple: Vegito’s sub pool is type restricted where the other S rank combo leads are not. Dragons have come a long way, but the loss of flexibility is a definite drawback.

Infinirog, the Best Farmable Lead

1847 - 黒天の幻龍王・Zaerog∞
I’m actually a bit surprised Sonia Gran is still rated an A lead, but I’m not surprised about Infinirog debuting at A+. Similar to Sonia Gran, his ideal team is quite IAP-heavy, but unlike his fellow dragon Zaerog can field a semi-respectable farmable team featuring a mix of Voices and CDDs, maybe even a DIza if the dungeon calls for it. One of his best subs is a REM silver egg — Shadow Dragon Knight — and he has some wonderful collab silver options in Anri and Baggi. Not having an overreliance on REM gold eggs is a boon.

System Lead Boost

1951 - Tome-Creating White Phantom Demon, Ilm1953 - Enraged Black Phantom Demon, Zuoh
To the best of my knowledge, both Ilm and Zuoh improved a rank each, but I can’t really place why. Perhaps their emergence as system leads contributed to it, but I don’t think the Chinese-based systems add much value outside of being a cute farming team. It could also just be an adjustment reflecting how good they are. If anyone has a better idea, please chime in.

Egypt 2 Gets Some Love

1664 - God of Dark Riches, Osiris1666 - Sacred Life Goddess, Hathor
It’s scary to think how good their uevos could be. I’m hoping for a sub uevo, the type that gives three extra awakenings. Not that they couldn’t use a boost to their leader skills, but their awakenings are what limit them the most. Of course, a simultaneous release of both split uevo types a la Three Kingdoms is perfectly acceptable, too.

Indian 2 Settle Down

2080 - 知徳の麗女神, Sarasvati2079 - 日輪の勇将神, Krishna
Sarasvati is now A rank and Krishna fell off the list completely. It’s difficult to evaluate new leaders so I expected their positions to fluctuate until JP got a better grasp of their limitations.

New GFE Dragoncaller Girls MIA

2142 - 黄昏の緋龍喚士, Tsubaki2144 - 朝凪の藍龍喚士, Sumire2146 - 金風の碧龍喚士, Kaede
I’m actually a bit surprised that neither Tsubaki or Sumire made the cut. Maybe after overestimating the Indian 2 uevos they got a bit gun-shy, or maybe I’m just missing something and they aren’t as good as I think they are.


Wood TPA Domination; The End of Light/Dark Bias

1743 - Restrained Dragon Hero, Liu Bei2146 - 金風の碧龍喚士, Kaede1902 - 究極装備 Thief1373 - Genius Sleeping Dragon, Zhuge Liang1672 - Norn of the Present, Verdandi2081 - Divine Creator of Order, Vishnu2075 - Awoken Meimei1556 - Demon Slayer, Susano no Mikoto
Of the 31 sub ranked, nine are wood and eight of those have TPAs. The next closest elements are fire and water with six each. Light and Dark trail with five each. When I first started my GZL team about 10 months ago, I never would’ve imagined that wood would break out the way it has. That’s the power of the dong.

Revere the Yandere

2180 - 平定の黄泉神, Izanami
With her uevo, Dark Izanami finally gets her rightful place on the list. I’m actually bewildered that she wasn’t on there before as just about every good damage reduction sub already was. I can’t believe her rather disappointing uevo gave her the final push to make the list, either.


1557 - Dancing Flame, Amaterasu Ohkami
Amaterasu is incredibly strong, but her usage is just too limited. In many cases LMeta is a better choice, both because she covers a non-LKali color for rainbow teams, but also because she’s much easier to skill up. I’m going to presume Ama is on there because of Cloud, which I guess makes the rating somewhat understandable, but considering NA is unlikely to get him I don’t think we should regard her this highly.


2074 - Awoken Karin2076 - Awoken Haku1732 - Stormy God-Emperor, Yamato Takeru
I feel if Leilan is an A rank, then Karin and Haku should be too. I also think Yamato Takeru should be on the list as all of the non-Wukong Heroes are A+ rank. Considering Gadius is an A+ lead, Yamato should be at least an A sub since he provides the critical skill boosts Gadius is missing.

FFCD Best Collab?

1901 - 最強装備, Juggler1902 - 究極装備 Thief1903 - 究極装備, Time Mage
Considering both leads and subs, FFCD has the most entries with three. DBZ follows with two (Vegito, Trunks) and FF, Monster Hunter and Bikkuriman each have one (Cloud, Baggi, Head Rococo). To be perfectly honest, even considering that I’d kill for Thief and Baggi, NA isn’t missing out on all much.

14 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Game8 JP Tier List 7/7/15

  1. Any thoughts on Urd’s absence from A tier when Skuld, Verd, and RSonia/Beelz all made the cut(again)?
    I just don’t see how she’s significantly worse. Verd seems a cut above the others if anything.


    • I purposely avoided discussing the differences between the Norns because everyone has their opinions on which is best, but there really isn’t a huge difference. I agree that Verdandi is a bit better than the rest, but only because wood has gotten so much love lately. As with all JP water teams, Skuld gets a huge boost from Baggi which is likely the only reason she made the list at all. Without Baggi I think Skuld is worse than Urd. Urd is quite good, but even with Kagu and Cao Cao she doesn’t have that killer super-synergistic sub to take full advantage of her leader skill. Phoenix Rider is close and I felt like he’d put Urd over the top, but apparently this JP list disagrees, probably because you can’t effectively run multiples like Liu Bei.

      RSonia/Beelz are in a bit of a different category as they play more like a tank team. Urd has similar raw stat boosts, but doesn’t have the team to take full advantage of it. Besides that, her sub pool isn’t quite as good while Beelz has Haku, Pandora and now Zuoh.


        • That’s true, but if Baggi isn’t a factor in Skuld’s leader grade I would be very surprised. I don’t think their team guides are intended to be all encompassing as most of them don’t cover utility slots like bind clears or skill bind resists and some appear to be out of date. If Baggi isn’t a factor then I’d be really curious what their reasoning is.


  2. You are in luck. PF has a post that saved the status of the list from May and if you read the list it was updated as the game8 website was updated. The thread is here:

    And in case the OP updates later to be overwritten with new info the order on May 26,2015 was:


    S Rank:
    Awoken Ra
    Awoken Bastet
    Awoken Laskshmi
    Awoken Shiva

    A Rank: (Now called A+ Rank?)
    Light Kali
    Awoken Parvati
    Awoken Horus
    Ultimate Goemon
    Light Anubis
    Cloud (if Cloud system Rank S)
    Ultimate Sarasvati
    Ultimate Krishna

    B Rank: (Now called A Rank?)
    Santa Sakuya
    Sonia Gran


    S Rank:
    Awoken Hinokagutsuchi
    Lui Bei
    chibi Valk
    Bayku [Baggi Neko?]
    Dark Kali
    Light Kali

    A Rank: (Now called A+ Rank?)
    Red Sonia
    Blue Sonia
    Dragon Sun Quan

    B Rank: (Now called A Rank?)

    Fire Valk
    Water Valk
    Wood Valk
    Dark Valk
    Yamato Takeru
    Dark Izanami


    • I had found that thread, but I missed the updates in the replies. Thanks for pointing that out.

      I gotta say, they really refined their list in that month or so. I like it way more now.


  3. “To the best of my knowledge, both Ilm and Zuoh improved a rank each, but I can’t really place why.”

    I believe they just got an LS buff as well, 3x base to 3.5x is significant, not sure if that’s enough to warrant an upgrade, but who knows?


  4. On reddit I tried to initiate a conversation the other day about a NA tier list, and it seems like you’ve sort of got thoughts in that direction. Removing the JP collabs and those that aren’t in NA yet (though I kept the Egyptians), is this kind of where you see a tier list in NA?

    S: Awoken Ra, Awoken Bastet

    A+: Awoken Lakshmi [S/A+ without Baggi], LKali, Gadius, Osiris, D/L Anubis, Ilm

    A: Pandora, Awoken Parvati, Zuoh, Verdandi, Beelzebub, Ronia, Hathor, Awoken Horus [A],

    A- (because of lacking JP subs): Andromeda, Skuld, Sonia Gran

    Not released: Awoken Shiva, Awoken Anubis [A+], Zaerog infiniite [A+], Ult. Sarasvati [A], Ult. Krishna [A]

    Really enjoy your blog. I realize tier lists are subjective, etc., but I’d think your thoughts on one for NA would be as strong a starting point for discussion as any.


    • The Game8 list is definitely the right place to start as their list is quite good now. I do have a few nitpicks, though.
      – I would bump light Anubis down to A. After watching Reco stream light Anubis for several months, I feel he’s way too inconsistent as a lead. Awoken Anubis is definitely A+, though.
      – I don’t think Zuoh should be on the list until Awoken Meimei is released.
      – I’d make it a point to emphasize that Beelzebub and RSonia come in a pair.
      – Krishna has been dropped from the latest JP list.

      Tier lists are tricky. I think Game8 does a good job though and any derivative list should be solid. I’m glad you like the blog, thanks!


      • Thanks for the reply. I’ve got a dumb question for you. I really liked your Beelzebub guide, but I’m not sure why he so completely outclasses a Lu Bu partner for Sonia. Seems like the choice between 6.25xATK/2xHP (Beelzebub) versus 7.5xATK/1.35xHP (Lu Bu) would be situational, like sometimes you need a little more HP to tank hits, sometimes you need a little more ATK to OHKO.

        I also follow your criticism of Lu Bu’s active — that you can really only use it once, because you probably can’t take a hit after. But it seems like that once, on the final boss, would more often be more key than Beelzebub’s orb enhance+4649 heal.

        I could understand if it was a preference for TPA over rows, but your analysis seemed more focused on rows… which would again favor Lu Bu.

        Honestly I still roll Ronia-Ronia, because I still feel uncomfortable if I can’t full-heal after every big hit while stalling for skills. (In fact, I only even got my Beelzebub the last time he descended.) So I don’t have a preference here — your enthusiasm for Beelzebub is compelling, and I’m trying to understand it as I move forward.


        • Beelzebub outclasses Lu Bu in the endgame, namely Challenge Dungeons and Legend Pluses. For most other situations Lu Bu/RSonia or RSonia/RSonia are sufficient.

          At first glance, Lu Bu seems superior since his ATK multiplier and awakenings and are better. In the end, the only difference that matters is Beelzebub’s 2x HP bonus. The difference between 45k HP and 30k is important because:
          – You can survive large hits like Divine Queen Hera’s 38k preeemptive.
          – You get some breathing room to work with in case you don’t get enough heart drops or can’t keep up with the incoming damage.

          To address the damage difference, as a tank team you’re just stalling for actives. Your full burst is enough damage to one-shot almost everything in the game, with or without Lu Bu’s superior offense. Beelzebub’s lack of rows is not an issue in this use case.

          In endgame dungeons, one of the most important factors is RCV and healing. Willingly sacrificing HP through Lu Bu’s active is counterproductive outside the final burst as in many cases you’ll need the damage enhance in the middle of the dungeon. Lv10 is basically a boss every floor, after all.

          Using RSonia/RSonia is understandable if you don’t have many +eggs. A Beelzebub team requires a critical mass of +eggs, mostly RCV eggs, before it’s effective in the endgame.


          • So for endgame, Lu Bu leaves you unnecessarily overpowered on offense and underpowered on HP? That makes sense.

            And yes, I’m still working my way into the last few late game dungeons, and my farming is still more focused on skill-ups (and even level ups for L/D monsters) instead of +eggs… I hadn’t really given thought to specifically increasing RCV that way.

            Thanks for the analysis.


Comments are closed.