Thoughts on the Game8 JP Tier List 7/24/15


Changes from 7/21: Gon debuts at A+, Killua debuts at A, Osiris A+→A, Beelz/RSonia coupled, Verdandi removed
S 2012 - Awoken Ra2011 - Awoken Bastet1901 - 最強装備, Juggler1955 - Awoken Lakshmi1954 - Awoken Shiva2030 - Cloud & ハーディ=デイトナ2253 - 破壊神, Shiva Dragon
A+ 1747 - Sparkling Goddess of Secrets, Kali1937 - 最強戦士・超ベジット2230 - 気狂いピエロ, Kite2226 - 制約と誓約, Gon Freecss2013 - Awoken Anubis1001 - Deathly Hell Deity Jackal, Anubis1951 - Tome-Creating White Phantom Demon, Ilm1847 - 黒天の幻龍王・Zaerog∞1947 - Lightning Red Dragonbound, Gadius
A 1736 - Wailing Bleak Night Goddess, Pandora1956 - Awoken Parvati1953 - Enraged Black Phantom Demon, Zuoh1664 - God of Dark Riches, Osiris1674 - Norn of the Future, Skuld2227 - 神速, Killua Zoldyck1645 - Marvelous Red Dragon Caller, Sonia1371 - Crazed King of Purgatory, Beelzebub1666 - Sacred Life Goddess, Hathor2009 - Awoken Horus1760 - Dawning Dragon Caller, Sonia Gran2080 - 知徳の麗女神, Sarasvati


Changes from 7/10: None
S 1726 - Awoken Hinokagutsuchi1743 - Restrained Dragon Hero, Liu Bei859 - ドスバギィ&バギィネコ2078 - 劫火の威女神, Kali1747 - Sparkling Goddess of Secrets, Kali1738 - 覇征の龍武王, Cao Cao
A+ 2146 - 金風の碧龍喚士, Kaede2010 - Awoken Isis1557 - Dancing Flame, Amaterasu Ohkami1561 - 超サイヤ人第三段階・トランクス1926 - Heaven-Shaking Thunderdragon, Indra1947 - Lightning Red Dragonbound, Gadius1953 - Enraged Black Phantom Demon, Zuoh2148 - 早天の日龍喚士, Kanna1733 - Blue Chain Starsea Goddess, Andromeda1734 - Green Star Vanquishing Deity, Perseus1736 - Wailing Bleak Night Goddess, Pandora1373 - Genius Sleeping Dragon, Zhuge Liang1670 - Norn of the Past, Urd1674 - Norn of the Future, Skuld1672 - Norn of the Present, Verdandi
A 2180 - 平定の黄泉神, Izanami2073 - Awoken Leilan2081 - Divine Creator of Order, Vishnu1902 - 究極装備 Thief1903 - 究極装備, Time Mage2075 - Awoken Meimei2094 - Phoenix Rider Valen1887 - 幸七羽毛・ヘッドロココ1741 - Soaring Dragon General, Sun Quan1556 - Demon Slayer, Susano no Mikoto

The Game8 list.

The changelog is short, but there’s a lot to discuss. The upgrades to Gon-san and Killua were apparently good enough to land them spots on the leader list. Osiris was bumped down a tier on the leader list and Verdandi was removed. It’s time to speculate why.

Do Gon-san and Killua Deserve Their Spots?

2226 - 制約と誓約, Gon Freecss2227 - 神速, Killua Zoldyck
While it was easy to concede Kite’s A+ due to “lol 64x”, why Gon and Killua deserve their spots isn’t as readily apparent. First, let’s look at Gon’s new leader skill which sadly hasn’t been updated on PDX yet: “Physical and attacker 1.3x to ATK and HP. Wood 4x ATK when HP is full or below 50%”. This gives wood physical/attacker types 5.2x ATK, or 27.04x when paired with another Gon-san. Add this on top of 1.69x HP and Gon’s nice awakenings — wood is starved for skill boosts — and you have a beast of a leader, especially when one of the best subs in the game, Liu Bei, qualifies for the team as an attacker.

In spite of this, I’m wary of Gon as I’m not a fan of HP-reliant leader skills. I think it really limits what the team can do, especially when preemptives become involved. Sure, the team will dominate farming, but the criteria of this leader list doesn’t include farming (or Goemon would certainly be on it). Perhaps I just have bad memories from when I mained GZL, but it’s annoying to have to worry about your HP levels. It gets even worse when you consider that attacker and physical types aren’t the greatest at healing. I think Game8’s A+ rating is validated by what is essentially an unconditional 27x, but I personally would avoid making Gon my endgame leader of choice. He sure hits like a truck though, which is appropriate considering the power of Jajanken.

Killua’s new leader skill reads something like: “Attacker and devil 1.3x to ATK and RCV. Dark 4x ATK when HP is above 80%”. It’s basically Gon’s except the HP threshold is different and he boosts RCV instead of HP. I don’t actually think the HP threshold makes much of a difference as you’re mostly going to be farming at full health with either lead. So the question is whether the rest of the package stacks up to Gon. Game8 rates Killua lower than Gon, but I don’t really see much difference. Killua’s awakenings are a bit worse and Satsuki isn’t quite as good as Liu Bei, but I think the two teams have similar capacities. I don’t fault Game8 for their grades of either, though.

Sigh, playing on NA is suffering.

Osiris Bumped Down to A

1664 - God of Dark Riches, Osiris
I’m a bit confused why this change occurred since nothing really changed for Osiris; he’s still the best tank lead for the best element in the game. I think this change was a simple adjustment as I don’t have any qualms with Osiris being at A instead of A+.

Verdandi Removed From the Leader List!

1672 - Norn of the Present, Verdandi
Here’s the big one for me: Verdandi was removed from the leader list altogether. On top of that, it was a stealth removal as it wasn’t noted in their change history. Unlike Osiris, I can see why this change was made as her place as wood’s premier unconditional ATK bonus lead has been taken over by Gon-san. I still think she’s one of the best leaders in the game and it’s not like we’ll be getting Gon-san on NA anyways.

I’m a bit confused why Skuld is still on the list, though, but I guess that can be attributed to That Damned Cat. Yep, playing on NA sure is suffering.

Put the Sleeping Genius to Bed

1373 - Genius Sleeping Dragon, Zhuge Liang
Considering Osiris and Verdandi’s demotions on the leader list, GZL should be getting one on the sub list as I can’t imagine he sees much play outside those two teams. I’m skeptical that he should be on the list at all as he’s ranked higher than both Vishnu and Meimei. I mean, I love me a GZL, but really?

ブブソニ Are Now an Official Item

1645 - Marvelous Red Dragon Caller, Sonia1371 - Crazed King of Purgatory, Beelzebub
I always assumed that Beelzebub and RSonia were on the list because of their leader pairing, but Game8 has made it official by grouping the two into a single entry on their leader list. I’m surprised they’re still on the list at all. I guess you have to give credit to the most effective traditional tank team in the game.

No Scarlet?

2206 - 闊達の灼冥魔, Scarlet
I guess Game8 isn’t impressed by the Scarlet System. Considering Cloud is there almost solely on the back of his System, I’m surprised Scarlet hasn’t graced the leader list with her presence.

Did I miss something? Please leave a comment and let me know!

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Game8 JP Tier List 7/24/15

  1. “Considering Cloud is there almost solely on the back of his System, I’m surprised Scarlet hasn’t graced the leader list with her presence.”

    Not sure if you know this, or even if it’s actually accurate, but there used to be two separate entries for cloud, an A+ for just cloud and an S for the cloud system. They decided that Just cloud was worthy of S, and combined both versions into one. At least that’s what I got from google translate a few months back. Who even can read what google spits out…😄

    (It occurs to me that I use the😄 smiley a lot. I refuse to apologize!)


    • Yes, I remember this. I believe the note next to his name roughly translates to: “if only used as a system”. It’s not solid evidence, but the only videos of Cloud that I see are in his system and I can’t imagine an S rank team without it if only due to the nature of his leader skill. Also, other FF collab leads were also on this list, but have fallen off. I’m sure Yuna was once on it and maybe Sephiroth was as well. I’d like to think Cloud without his system would have fallen off too. This is all just conjecture on my part, though.


Comments are closed.