I Gave in and Made a Shiva Dragon Team

IMG_9094

It’s ridiculous how much damage the team does with a single row.

I was initially resistant to adopting the new MP Shop dragons, but convenience and ease of farming are greater than anything. For now I’m just going to leave it as a farming team and not really develop the subs to use it for other applications. I have no immediate plans to invest more +eggs, either. I initially wanted that fourth Ares just because, but it turns out that Yamato Takeru has been key in clearing many dungeons. He changes different orbs than Ares — it’s easy to run out of water and heart orbs after a few Ares orb changes, especially after lazy comboing — and gives you a chance to heal. Combining the two orb changes creates a majority fire board that can take out most bosses with minimal thinking. The bind recovery has also been nice.

26 thoughts on “I Gave in and Made a Shiva Dragon Team

  1. The amount of damage that team puts out is ridiculous. I have the same team sans +eggs and it makes farming so easy. I’m working on farming the +HP Latent Tamas and this team is wrecking the Kanetsugu descend.

    Like

  2. Ares is damn good since he complements Shiva Dragon so well but I tend to lean towards the popular idea of 2 being core with some room for variation. I think RValk, Uriel, and Urd are undervalued here. RValk at 5 CD can be used on two floors back to back, Uriel provides more orb coverage but also converts/enhances hearts which translate to enhanced fire, and of course Urd’s full board change is useful as needed.

    Maybe that’s all just white noise in the face of 3 rows and a double convert active? I don’t have so many Ares dupes so it’s hard for me to tell how orb starved you really are in practice. 12 rows strikes me as plenty enough though.

    I’m bracing myself in a way because while Shiva Dragon is fantastic for farming, the basic team probably isn’t going to change for a very long time, unless they relax his God requirement (invalidating other fire leads) or introduce more interesting God type options. Let’s face it though, Shiva Dragon was built for the boring playstyle of cycling orb converts. It’s a bit worrying when you think about a second MP cycle, but I’m getting ahead of myself.

    Like

    • I don’t think it really matters what subs you run. It’s not like there’s much selection, anyways, and anything you run will be effective. The more Ares you run, the more mindless it gets so you should run as many as you can that the dungeon will allow.

      As for the future, who knows. If he get’s power creeped out of relevancy, that’s just part of the game.

      Like

    • Sadly, dupe Verdandis aren’t very good. Having two on your team, three when including your friend lead, is pretty much the upper limit. While their board change is good for setting up potential damage, it has limited use if there’s not actual damage dealer — like Liu Bei or Vishnu — to cash it in.

      There isn’t much future potential as she just got her uevo in JP. I’d just roll with your current team and leave the third in your box for now. I’d look for a Three Kingdoms godfest with a wood gala overlapping in hopes of getting Liu Bei, GZL or any of the many great wood monsters.

      Like

    • Yeah, it’s kinda disgusting, but ease of farming won out over my pride. The Meimei System is nice, but it has it’s limits and even that team looks like Anubis when all you have to do is make a row or two to blow everything up with Shiva Dragon.

      Like

  3. Haha, you caved 😄 Not gonna lie, I had a feeling you would. 10x descends with shivagon speed is too big a temptation. I ended up buying him when Yomidra was disappointing. I have a feeling he’s gonna get a buff right at the end of his cycle just like Nepdra, but I don’t really care since Awoken Yomi is so much stronger. For now…

    Like

    • Sadly, it was an easy decision to pull the trigger on Shiva Dragon, its just that good for farming. The other dragons don’t appeal to me quite as much, but they too have have their temptations.

      Like

    • Preemptive binds are a strange thing to nitpick about considering there are very few relevant ones in the game. If it’s really an issue, you can just use Fire Dragon Knight or Ame no Uzume when she comes out.

      Like

  4. Sorry I know this is an old thread, but I was thinking about the Shiva dragon team you made.
    Why not A Leilan instead of Ares? Is it because you already had +297 Ares or you don’t have Leilan’s?
    Just curious as I have two and an Tomato so Im thinking I could use her instead of Ares.

    Like

      • Ares is by far the best Shiva Dragon sub. Shiva Dragon is strong enough to perform well with any fire gods, but I personally don’t think you should bother with the team unless you have at least one.

        For farming, two Ares is good. Any more than that can sometimes be good, but is usually overkill. I think three is the limit. Four is just for showing off.

        Certain dungeons you can only afford to run one, though, like Ultimate Arena. Urd is a good board change option in that case even though she doesn’t contribute any rows.

        Like

        • How do you choose when to pop the active? I’m not liberal enough with skill usage when it’s not a five turn orb change.

          Like

          • Assuming your 4 subs are orb changers with 8-turn or less cooldowns, you can use one every turn for at least 8 turns due to Shiva Dragon’s haste.

            Like

  5. ha ha, glad to see you’re not that elitist I thought you were. You had such for disdain for those MP dragons. It was a bit irrational imo. People with enough MP to afford them already have teams to tackle most descends anyway. Those MP drags just makes things easier/quicker. Although Shiva drag teams are missing a good unbindable sub. At least I couldn’t find one.

    One question for you : which subs would you suggest for a shiva drag rainbow farming team ?

    Like

    • Well, it may have seemed irrational to you, emotions often are, but I feel that I was pretty much correct, at least from my point of view. I have a certain emotional attachment to all my teams except Shiva Dragon which is pretty much what I feared. The MP Dragons are just a means to an end and not something I’m particularly proud of. Maybe that taints any accomplishments made off the backs of their power, but my time is worth more than my pride.

      Shiva Dragon has two potential on-color unbindable bind clearers in Fire Dragon Knight (not god type) or the new Ame no Uzume uevo.

      For rainbow teams, I’ve never really thought about it. Here’s what I’d use off the top of my head, though:
      Water – Urd
      Light – Ares
      Dark – Shiva Dragon

      Those are obvious, though. Wood is the hard one, as there are pretty much only horrible options. Cao Cao might be the best even if he’s not god type since he still has good utility and interacts with Urd. Sadly, I don’t have one (sigh), so I’d probably go with Set or Markab. Uevo set might be the best option, but that’s far off. Pure Machina could be an option too. There probably also off-color options, but that would be a last resort.

      Like

  6. I can’t believe with as much as u roll u don’t have a Cao Cao, but I don’t have a Light Kali after tons of rolls.

    Like

  7. Im not the best at making combos i have shiva dragon and my best friend does too and now can easily obtain mats for awokens and i know that it definitely helps other players and i get tons of pal points .

    Like

  8. For wood, set is a pretty good choice, as his active replaces r-valk, with a fire boost as well. Just a bit longer cd.

    Like

Comments are closed.