First Arena Clear

Not all that impressive considering the team, but a clear is a clear. It took me a bit to get used to a rainbow team again, but the Ra Dragon team just has so many time extends that being shitty doesn’t matter that much. Parvati is the worst thing ever; now I know why the recommended latent setup uses wood resists.

Ra Dragon is just plain stupid. Now it makes sense how actual good players can get 80% or higher clear rates. It makes me not even want to try other leads for the Arena (which is a good thing since I’m low on MP… I have a feeling FF and Christmas will fix that, though). DKali is absolutely necessary, but I think you can get by with only one, especially if you’re good at clearing the board. Ra Dragon’s RCV multiplier is just disgusting as you can stall for a good board on most floors, but there are a few bosses that just mess with your board too much to do without DKali. Ra Dragon is also great at controlling its damage, making perseverance and damage absorb bosses relatively trivial.

12 thoughts on “First Arena Clear

  1. Was thinking of picking up ra dragon, already have a perfect shiva dragon team . I would have all but the second d Kali for the team, are the latent resists that crucial to beating the arena. I really don’t want to invest all those MP points into those latent awakenings. Not the greatest comboer either, but I don’t want to miss out on a team that I could beat dungeons where shiva dragon can’t.

    Like

    • Nope, I didn’t for a few reasons, but mainly because I didn’t think the clear is all that interesting. The Arena gives me something to do during event downtime, though, so I can look into maybe making a video then. I expect there to be many 6-combos and skillfalls.

      Like

  2. I picked up my own Ra Dragon today… It feels like coming home; I was a huge L/L Ra fan, and just never really got comfortable with the active-budgeting A.Ra playstyle. I’d much rather puzzle harder and use skills when I need them instead of burning them when I just need a damage boost. I loved coming back to the consistency of L/L Ra, with high enough damage to kill off a lot of threats even without a perfect board.

    I only have one DKali, sadly, but Attacker Okuninushi filled in the slot very well since – barring status shields – he’s effectively a 1-turn haste for my entire team and a good second chance at getting a 6-color board.

    Now I just need to finish leveling RaDra and finish hypermaxing this team. Oh, and Latents, I suppose; I’ve been avoiding them because they’re so marginal for the expense.

    ANYWAY! I am going to clear off some friend list space so I can get more RaDra friends. I have hypermax A.Ra in 1 and A.Shiva in 2. 357,549,260

    Like

  3. A chocobo would leave you with 80 percent skill bind resist but how bad do you think using the light sengoku would be? Also, with the new skill delay latent, wouldn’t it be better to put those on radra and opt for the defensive resist layout which leaves you with extras (non hp latents). I realize it’d be expensive but it can bring your whole team back up again.

    Like

    • After thinking about it for a second, it’d seem that having two skill delay resists and the rest dark would be the best thing for yourself and a friend by probably ensuring that if your friend uses all HP you can still get by, however, if they use only 3hp (and hopefully 2x skill delay), you should still be able to make the required resist latents on your own subs.

      Like

    • The skill delay latents would be nice, but seeing as Ra Dragon doesn’t have a huge reliance on actives there really isn’t much point, especially in the Arena. It’s actually fairly surprising how little you have to use actives in the Arena outside a few DKalis and Ra Dragon is more than capable of stalling out a short skill delay. Outside the Arena it’s more relevant, but my Ra Dragon team is only for Arena farming; I’ll use other teams outside that.

      If we had the latent right now, I’d probably consider running that setup, but this current setup seems more than good enough.

      Like

      • I only have one Dkali JP but I run 2 skill delay latents on Shivadra just to make things easy. It makes Zaerog and Nordis more reliable I’d think but I haven’t run them with Shivadra yet. Still trying to figure out if it’s worth it to try and invest in Radra with only one Dkali.

        Like

  4. If you only have 1 dkali, what sub would you recommend putting in for the second one for arena? I have 1 dkali/ a isis/ indra already!

    Like

    • Anything with an SBR, really. There’s been talk about Kanna, Maeda and Izanagi among others. Things like Fat Chocobo would also work, but comes at the risk of 80% SBR.

      Like

    • Don’t overlook D/B Okuninushi. He’s got a ton of HP, a useful short-cooldown Active skill, and strong offensive capabilities. He also carries 1 SBR

      Like

Comments are closed.