Collab Review – Evangelion

I remember when all I wanted were more collabs to come to NA. Now that we’re actually getting them, I’m decidedly unimpressed. The Evangelion Collab is no exception. After Misato the quality drops off quickly, although the new Shinji and Rei uevos provide some much needed value at silver. The entire REM seems to be waiting for machines to become a thing; hopefully someday this collab will be able to cash in on that type. Hopeful speculation aside, the only reason to roll this REM is a love for the franchise.

5-Star Gold Eggs

Grades are given relative to monsters of the same rarity.

Misato – A
2328 - Misato&AAA Wunder, 主砲斉射
Pros
  • Powerful orb change + haste
  • About as close TPA teams will get to Ares
  • Fine awakenings; bind utility a nice bonus
Cons
  • Not a Shiva Dragon sub
  • Leader skill overshadowed by Awoken Freyr
Notes
Misato has all of the makings of a great sub — orb change, good awakenings and she even has a one-turn haste now — which makes her one of the best collab monsters NA has ever gotten. Perhaps her most coveted attribute is her bind utility. I’m not a fan of dedicated bind clearers, but when it comes at little cost it’s something I can endorse. Unlike a sub like Ame no Uzume, you make very little sacrifices running her on your team as she’s still fully functional offensively. One shortcoming is that she doesn’t have a bind clear in her active, but I prefer an active that is useful in all situations and planning ahead for a row of hearts is a small cost.
Her biggest downside is that she doesn’t have a place on the most prevalent fire team, Shiva Dragon. Context is everything in this game and while Misato is plenty powerful, not qualifying for fire’s most elite team is certainly a demerit. That being said, she’ll be a fine option for Shiva, Raoh and just about any fire leader she qualifies for (she’s a surprisingly good option for Leilan).

Shinji & Kaworu – B-
1201 - Shinji&Kaworu&Unit-13, FI
Pros
  • A farming lead for water
  • Puts Neptune to shame
Cons
  • Overshadowed by Awoken I&I
Notes
Shinji & Kaworu are somewhat of an enigma; it’s just not obvious what we’re supposed to do with them. Water-attackers are in a much better state now than they were when we last got this collab over a year ago — Karin, Hermes and BValk come to mind — so that’s one obvious application, but the inclusion of machine type feels like GungHo intended to start something, but failed to finish it. At least until machines become a thing, there’s very little use for them.

4-Star Silver Eggs

Grades are given relative to monsters of the same rarity. Low-cost dungeons are no longer factored due to the Descended Carnival.

Asuka – C
1200 - Asuka&Upgraded Eva Unit-02, Code 777
Pros
  • It’s Asuka
  • Has a skill up fodder
Cons
  • A five-second Change the World is horrible
Notes
Asuka was once one of the premium low-cost leads in the game, being a fine match-up for Draggie. With the advent of the Descended Carnival, low-cost dungeons are all but obsolete, pretty much killing any of Asuka’s previous value. It’s nice that they gave her a skill up fodder, but requiring 10 levels for a five-second Change the World effect that often lowers the amount of time you have to move isn’t worth the investment. Here’s hoping she someday gets buffs that put her on par with the REM’s other silver uevos.

Shinji – A-
2326 - Shinji&Eva Unit-01, 第1覚醒形態
Pros
  • An orb change is an orb change
  • Fine awakenings for a silver
  • Has a skill up fodder
  • Can use guaranteed uevo skill ups
Cons
  • None
Notes
Shinji is a good example of what every collab should have at least one of among its silvers. Everything about him is mediocre, yet he provides so much value considering his rarity. I’ve never been a fan of Rider-style orb changes, but any type of orb change effect is useful. His jack-of-all-trades assortment of awakenings are unimpressive, but it does give him the flexibility to contribute to a wide range of teams. Perhaps the most important aspect is that he now has a skill up fodder. Many collab silvers with usable actives go to waste since they can’t be easily skilled up. Shinji not only avoids this problem, but at five skill levels he’s relatively easy to max out. He may not have the niche utility that makes something like Mamiya so valuable, but Shinji is more likely to be an effective part of a newer player’s roster than the majority of collab silvers.

Mari – C-
700 - Mari&Eva Unit-08
Pros
  • Two wood rows
Cons
  • Overshadowed by Awoken Freyja
Notes
Mari is a fine damage enhancer choice for wood-attacker teams like Ishida and Summer GSonia, but she’s now severely overshadowed by Awoken Freyja and many would rather use GZL even on a row team. She’s just a bit too narrow and underpowered to be considered a good option, even at silver, but is a decent stand-in until you find something better.

Rei – B-
2327 - Rei&Eva Unit-00, コア融合
Pros
  • Damage shield
  • Can use guaranteed uevo skill ups
Cons
  • No skill up fodder
Notes
For a silver egg, there’s a lot to like here as damage shields are always useful. Her awakenings aren’t terrible either; they’re easier to swallow if you think of her having a row, OE and skill boost and the auto-heals are just a nice bonus. That being said, as a damage shield Rei has stiff REM competition in Indra, Yuna, and the soon to be uuevo Raphael and even faces pressure from the farmable Sandalphon and Sherospada. As such, it’s questionable if she’s worth the investment, at least until she gets a skill up fodder.

Kaworu – D
704 - Kaworu&Mark.06
Pros
  • None
Cons
  • Everything
Notes
I guess every collab needs one true dud and Kaworu is it for Eva. Mari gets a slightly higher grade due to the extra row and being a bit more relevant in her element and type, but Kaworu has very little use anywhere with Tiamat, a largely outdated farmable, being generally better. I guess he can take comfort in the fact that he’s better than Vivi.

Conclusion

I guess NA should count its blessings that it gets collabs at all, but it’s hard to get excited when we’re in the midst of a huge wave of power creep and the collab offerings we get are so lackluster. Even with decent value at silver, I’d advise most players to avoid this collab, instead saving for the inevitable end-of-year Player’s Choice Godfest or what is hopefully an improved Christmas REM.

I’d like to avoid rolling at all, but I’ll likely throw a pack at the machine, stopping early if I roll a gold. I started PAD the last time NA had Eva and didn’t roll at all. It’s not like I regret not rolling, but for some reason I’d like to get in on the action, even knowing that there’s almost no use for any of the rolls.

19 thoughts on “Collab Review – Evangelion

  1. Haha, did my own review on the collab. No letter grades, but the general ranking was the same. I value Rei less than you do because lack of skillups, but I value Maria a little higher for double row and very fast enhance… if you like wasting piis 😛

    “I started PAD the last time NA had Eva and didn’t roll at all.”

    I rolled until I had both golds last time, then quit a month later 😄

    I think GH has a plan for blue attackers. I don’t know what that plan is, but we have a reasonable number of powerful options: http://puzzledragonx.com/en/monsterbook.asp?e1=2&t1=5&t2=5&t3=5&e=0&ue=0&s1=1&s2=1&o1=1&o2=2&o3=2

    All we really need is a leader. Maybe Volsungr, maybe Mikasa if she ever ends up in NA. If buffs DO overwrite Vol’s debuffs, U13 might be a great way to cover dark on his team…? Or AI&I, debatable. Probably A I&I unless you really need the extra damage.

    Like

    • Go to know I’m in the ballpark for the grades. I was also surprised at how good water attackers have become. It should be interesting if they push it further.

      Like

      • It’s true that Masamune’s AS is very good on this team (which is incredibly surprising in its own right 😛 ) but the difference between a 1.5x multiplier and a 2.5x is astronomical, 54x vs 90x. I would agree that Masamune is (debatably) the best, followed by AI&I, followed by U13. But still, I’ve been waiting for an excuse to use U13 for over a year, let me have this one 😀

        Also, I STILL haven’t found confirmation that buffs overwrite Vol’s debuffs. if ANYONE has a link to proof either way, please share it!

        Like

    • I was trying to find your review but I don’t know where to look. I clicked your name but nothing… Is there something I am doing wrong here? 😛

      Like

      • Oh, I don’t have a blog, I’m only on the forums over here: http://puzzleanddragonsforum.com/

        My review was just a response to someone asking “what’s good?” so it highlights the pros and cons of each card. I don’t really do letters, as everyone is at a different stage of the game, so a 4 for endgame might be a 9 for midgame. I just try to highlight where cards are good, where they’re bad, and why. Here’s my “review” 😛 Copy/pasted from the forums:

        U13 isn’t “good,” but a 10 turn morning star coupled with a 2.5x for attacker and machines is certainly very interesting. Bind proof, and a SLR incoming as well. Also, his AS is being buffed to a flat 3.5x for machine and attacker types. Not incredible, but able to do work with his active against a boss.

        Misato is pretty darn good. She’s a bind proof, bind clearing, TPA oriented Ares with haste. Up to you if that’s something you need in your life.

        Shinji is a double orb changer. Decent awakenings, pretty good stats, all in all an OK roll if you’ll use his AS. Which now has a farmable skillup BTW.

        Rei is hard to like. She could have been pretty good had they given her a skillup fodder, but as is, she’s not really worth piis IMO. If you do go that route, she has a potent shield that’s up pretty fast, and decent awakenings.

        Maria has some surprising potential. Again, no skillup, and pii usage is dubious at best. BUT, a 7 turn enhance can be good, and green row attackers are rapidly becoming a thing. Great awakenings, decent active, she’s worth holding onto if green rows, or green attackers, or both are your sort of thing.

        And lastly, Asuka. She has not aged well… Awakenings are OK, but that’s about it. Her HP is garbage, her active is useless, the only potential use is paired with Misato, and even then there are probably better options now.

        So, TLDR: Golds are solid, but not necessary to any current teams. Silvers are a mixed bag. They all have uses, but none are particularly good at anything right now, with the possible exception of Shinji, who’s actually pretty good.

        Like

  2. I’m super excited about this. Not only do I get to spend all my money trying to get Misato, but I finally get to hypermax my SS Isis! Just recently got into anime a few months ago and so far this is one of my favs.

    Slightly off topic, but I remember you saying you used to have an anime blog… Maybe you have some good recommendations?
    I’ve watched Eva, AoT, Death note, Sword Art Online, Psycho Pass, Baccano!, FotNS (movie) Wicked city, King of thorns, watching Lain now. I love pretty much anything futuristic and psychological. Any suggestions?

    Like

    • Recommending anime is always hard for me since there are so many options. For both futuristic and psychological, the obvious recommendation has to be Ghost in the Shell. The original movie is a good place to start, but I really loved both seasons of the Stand Alone Complex TV series. A bit more of a personal pick would be Infinite Ryvius; not one of the absolute best shows ever, but I really liked the character development and the Lord of the Flies feel. For non-futuristic stuff, I really liked Paranoia Agent, Monster and Tatami Galaxy.

      Like

      • Awesome! Thanks! I forgot to mention that I had seen the original GitS, and it is fantastic. I will definitely check out those others! Most likely while out of stones after rolling for misato haha 🙂

        Like

    • I started watching anime again using pad collaborations as a guide. I figured, I like the game, maybe I’ll like what they like. It’s been a mixed bag, but I did find Hunter x Hunter, which is so good that even my wife and brothers loved it (none of them watches anime, as a rule).

      Like

  3. I’m hoping fire will soon break free from the shackles of Shiva Dragon comparisons. It’s nice that rows are a thing again but when Shiva Dragon is so unanimously the best it sort of slowly suffocates the rest of the roster.

    Like

Comments are closed.