Site’s On Christmas Break

I still plan on making posts if there’s good reason to and replying to comments at least once a day, but my activity on this site will be lower than usual until the holidays are over. Most people won’t notice a difference, but just in case. Considering the absolute shit event NA gave us there shouldn’t be much to talk about anyways!

Update (12/26/15): So, with 10x starting on Monday on top of my holiday obligations, let’s just say I’ll be neglecting the site even more for a while. This likely means no New Year’s REM review (it’s bad), no New Year’s godfest review (milk that 4x GFEs), no new Farmable Monster Analysis (it probably sucks) and any Game8 tier list updates will likely be very short (A-tier is garbage). I’d do a 10x post, but it looks like everything is covered by my old ones and scrllock’s Reddit post. Of course I’ll make time for brag posts and, of course, I’ll still be responding to comments on a daily basis.

48 thoughts on “Site’s On Christmas Break

  1. Happy Holidays Setsu!

    You really made this game more fun for me man. If I have anything to give thanks for related to Puzzles and Dragons, it’s that people like you enthusiastically contributing to the community with your knowledge and opinions.

    -Sincerely,

    Setsupad.wordpress Frequenter

    Like

  2. Merry Christmas !
    thank you again for keeping this fantastic sight going. I read it daily …. lol still holding my +eggs for Loki..

    Like

  3. Merry Christmas! Thanks for responding to all my (semi-dumb) questions!

    You’d think they’d at least give us 3x Normals or something. 5x Tech for the week of Christmas means lots of nothing to do when I finally have free time and no work. Or maybe they’re thinking of my family and that I should spend more time with them.

    Like

    • I really thought they’d try to capitalize on people having a bit more free time due to the holidays, but I guess not. I can live with not getting 10x, but getting 5x again was a kick in the balls.

      Like

    • Thanks for posting this, I haven’t been reading PF since I started vacation. There may still be hope, but I’m not getting my hopes up again. So instead, I’ll only get my hopes up a little bit (why do I do this to myself).

      Like

      • I hadn’t thought of this until I saw the New Years REM, but New Years is a way bigger deal in Japan than Christmas is. I worked there for a few years, and my boss never understood why I wanted to go home for Christmas, rather than wait for New Years – so I wouldn’t be surprised at all if Gung Ho NA was like “Hey, we should have a sweet Christmas event” and JP responded “Don’t be silly, everyone knows New Years is more important.” Basically, I’m holding my breath for the New Years event to have 10x Descends…*hopes*

        Like

    • If you’re referring to the New Year’s REM, maybe if it’s announced for NA as there’s no guarantee it’s coming here (they’d have to do something about the coop awakenings). However, even someone like me has a real life so I may just pass over it this time. Like most special REMs it’s really not that interesting.

      Like

    • I can rate it for ya, It’s bad. Really, really, don’t roll. Like if you really want to roll, hit yourself on the nose with a newspaper, go to a mirror, and say NO. Bad Self. Hopefully that’ll learn ya.

      on the no jokes/sarcasm approach, Kanna and Ama are the only things worth getting, Ama isn’t better than awoken, so “Meh” and Kanna is going to cost you an average of 500 stones, if you’re going to roll 100 times just try to get a normal kanna during 4x GFEs, and have a chance at much better “other” stuff. This one is very disappointing after the other special REMs we’ve gotten, honestly. Christmas wasn’t really worth rolling in, and New Years is significantly worse than Christmas.

      Like

      • The whole point of these (for me, at least) is the art, so I’d have given them enough stones to collect all the silvers. Because of that, I’d still much rather have a mediocre REM that guarantees collab cards, rather than one with a few good gold and PACKED with unrelated trash, but I can see why others feel differently. Obviously best case would be good cards AND all on-collab, but god damn I never want to roll a chibi ever again.

        I doubt we’ll be getting the REM though, since it wasn’t announced as part of the New Years event.

        Like

      • That’s pretty much how I feel about it, but that won’t stop me from dropping a pack (or two) on it if we get it. I’d very much like a Hanzo, but outside that nothing appeals to me much.

        Like

  4. Wanted to just wish you happy holidays. Was pointed to your blog and have to say even though I am a fairly new player to PAD, you have elevated my understanding of the game more then 10 fold. Thank you so much! Hope you are having a great Christmas!

    Like

  5. We are getting 10x descends finally! How many plus eggs do you think you are going to try to get? Or are you just gonna get as much as you can?

    Like

  6. Thanks for being so diligent with updates and replies!

    We all knew 10x was coming someday, but seeing those 4 +eggs a run firsthand is like a drug.

    Like

      • Presumably you’re aware of this, but just in case:
        Sorting 1st +, 2nd ATK/HP (do RCV last as it is messier) (and 3rd priority CHR) lets you group HP/ATK monsters which makes fusing somewhat faster as you don’t need to check what monster carries what type of plus.

        Like

  7. Hi Setsu, thank you so much for your posts to this site. Although I am not at end game your site has become a daily read for me and I’ve learned so much. I hope you’re farming the cr@p out of the 10x’s. 🙂

    If you’d like to take a break, I wouldn’t mind a little advice on if I should roll for this GF. I’m non-IAP and rolled big (200+ stones) on PCGF. I’m currently at 43 stones. I have plenty of mouths to feed and I’m not stalled for things to do, but I’m always willing to roll if I can find value in it. I did my own analysis and based on what I *think* I want I might want to roll on day 1 only (although I could be wrong).

    Here is my padherder: https://www.padherder.com/user/mikeyang75/monsters/#31,0,31,2047,268435455,0,,0,0,0,eq,0,0,0,0,;default,0

    Currently trying to get an Awoken Shiva team together (stupid *#%^$&#* phoenix) which will probably become my main team for the immediate future. I am moving away from my Ronia/Beelze team and will probably have Awoken Ama soon as well. I have some pieces for a Ra team but have decided that I’d rather work with an easier team to use for now. Any advice you can provide would be greatly appreciated. Happy holidays!

    Like

    • I think an Urd and to a lesser extent a Leilan would be good for you Shiva team, making day 1 pretty good for you. Set would also be a reasonable sub. The risk of Indian 1 dupes is unfortunate, but not horrible and dupe Chinese are still good. On top of that, it’s the last day of the fire gala which gives you a good chance to fill out your Shiva roster.

      Like

      • I thought I’d quickly post what I ended up rolling: Genie, Fire dragon swordsman, Laila, Thanatos, Berry dragon, Yamato takeru, Chester, Marine rider, Fire dragon swordsman (again).

        Overall I don’t consider this terribly successful (lots of silvers) but I’m pretty psyched about Yamato. Thanks again for your help!

        Like

  8. Thanks for the great site. I check it daily, and can’t wait until you have a chance to update it again. I am in a similar situation as the poster above (Mike), and was hoping to get some thoughts on the comparisons of the godfest exclusives in the 3 day lineup. I am a non-IAP player, and have 30 stones currently saved. I’d like to focus on my end game teams, unless there are significant upgrades that could change my farming teams to an end game team.

    I already have both Metatrons, both Kalis, Red/Blue Sonia, and Green/Red Odin. I could always use a duplicate of the Kalis and Red Odin, but I’m not sure what to think of the other GF exclusives. Plus I’m not sure if I should roll day 1 or 3 for minor upgrades of my green subs, or if any of the pantheons would help me.

    My main late/end game teams are:
    I have a couple of builds of Mono Green with Bastet and Verdandi as leaders (my subs are Liu Bei, GZL, Ceres, Perseus). Should I roll for Mei-Mei or Vishnuu?

    I have a couple of combo team choices with Sakuya, L. Kali, and Ra (my subs are usually D. Kali, Isis, L. Meta, Apollo, Valkyrie, Venus, Sun Quan depending on the lead)

    Teams I use to farm (don’t really think I should roll for upgrades, but not sure)
    Red Sonia team – Hanzo, mini-lubu, Pandora, beelzebub
    I&I / B. Sonia team – Andromeda, kirin, and several other B-level subs
    L. Metatron team – Valkyrie, L. ZGL, Sun Quan, Venus
    Athena team – Venus, Valkyrie, Apocalypse, Apollo

    Any thoughts or suggestions?

    Like

      • https://www.padherder.com/user/zugtar/monsters/#31,0,31,255,268435455,0,,0,0,0,eq,0,0,0,0,;boxfav,0

        This is pretty up to date. I think there’s a valid mono red Shiva team and a mono blue team. I’m not sure if they would be better than my green teams though. Do you see any GFEs that I should aim to pick up?

        I am a non IAP player, so I generally save up my stones for Godfests and monster box space. I’ve gotten pretty lucky with GFEs so far, but I’d be surprised if I got a 2nd Red Odin or Kali anytime soon. I have recently been gathering +eggs from x3 normals and x10 descends. (Thanks for the Goemon guide!)

        Like

        • Unfortunately I couldn’t get to this sooner. Luckily it doesn’t look like you missed out on too much. It looks like you have a pretty good Ra team, like you said. You also have a pretty nice water box. I can see a future BSonia team (BSonia / Karin / Amberjack / I&I / Snow White / BSonia) as well as Ryune-I&I and Lakshmi teams (once she gets her buffs). Day 2 would’ve been nice if you wanted to pursue water. Day 3 doesn’t look all that great for you, but a Vishnu for Bastet and most of the Japanese 1s and Constellations aren’t bad for you

          Everything being said, I’m not sure I would’ve strongly recommended you to roll any of the days. Being non-IAP means you have to be a bit more stingy with your stones. I think you have to pick a team you want to advance (in the context of possibly getting a MP Dragon) then find a godfest that fits your needs better. Since you have a lot of good directions to go, it can be hard to make a decision. Personally, I’d pick either the rainbow route (Ra, Sakuya) or water route (BSonia, I&I, Lakshmi), the decision primarily being left to your personal preference since they are both fairly strong. If you pick rainbow — the route that is probably regarded as a bit stronger by the masses — I’d try to get that second LKali and since we don’t know when we’ll get 4x GFEs again (hopefully soon, but you never know), day 3 might be worth it.

          Like

  9. Thanks for the advice! I think day 3 is a good time to roll with the higher chance of getting kali for a rainbow team. Even getting dupes of gfes have the upside of lots of mp as I go towards an arena team.

    Like

  10. Setsu – what do you think of New Year’s Amaterasu on a Ra Dragon team? I rolled her on my alt and could do something like Ra Dragon/Dark Kali/?(Chocobo?)/Amaterasu/Awoken Susano.

    Like

    • Outside the two SBRs she’s pretty much useless since the team should be mostly bind immune anyways. Considering the sub you have, though, she should be a decent placeholder. Although I’m not sure I’d specifically pursue Ra Dragon if those were my best subs.

      Like

  11. I rolled Freyr, Mistrain (lol), Cao Cao (!!!), and Castor (?!) from this godfest. No GFEs??? but that’s okay. Cao Cao made me die, him and Freyr and going to propel my fire teams and they pretty much make my fire box ultra-complete, really only missing Yamato at this point (but the hero pantheon as a whole is fantastic, I really want to roll when Heroes arrive more often).

    Before Day 3 I was rolling on Day 3 because I really wanted Castor or Vishnu, or Yomi or Susano, and ended up with Castor…..and promptly forgot just why I wanted him. I think I wanted him for Awoken Archdemon Lucifer, who I’ve heard is super good and to me he looks terrific. Any other potential uses for Castor?

    Like

    • Yeah, no GFEs, but those were some pretty solid rolls. I particularly like Freyr since it feels like more and more things need the damage enhance due to GungHo releasing more content with high-HP monsters.

      Like the other Constellations, I don’t know if Castor is an ideal sub for anyone, but he’s quite good on just about any team he qualifies for. He’ll be a lot more appealing for non-IAP once he gets a skill up fodder.

      Like

Comments are closed.