Thoughts on the Game8 JP Tier List 1/13/16


Changes from 1/7: Astaroth S→A+
SS 2259 - Sun God, Ra Dragon2261 - God of the Night, Tsukuyomi Dragon
S 2253 - Destroyer God, Shiva Dragon2255 - Sea Deity, Neptune Dragon2389 - Awoken Sakuya2013 - Awoken Anubis2507 - Awoken Archdemon Lucifer
A+ 1954 - Awoken Shiva2445 - 最大の強敵, Raoh2392 - Awoken Freyr1955 - Awoken Lakshmi2443 - 還爪の青龍契士・Ryuune2393 - Awoken Idunn&Idunna2566 - 隔世の蒼龍喚士・Sonia2011 - Awoken Bastet2505 - Awoken Astaroth2012 - Awoken Ra2465 - Ushio & Tora2441 - 裁爪の橙龍契士・Saria2395 - Awoken Thor2447 - 南斗最後の将, Yuria2325 - Awoken Yomi2230 - 気狂いピエロ, Kite
A 2537 - 夢招福神, Horus2511 - Mistress of the Sanctuary, Kali2226 - 制約と誓約, Gon Freecss1956 - Awoken Parvati2534 - 紅日の寿龍喚士, Kanna1951 - Tome-Creating White Phantom Demon, Ilm2533 - 遊山の天舞神, Amaterasu Ohkami2324 - Awoken Amaterasu Ohkami2148 - Dawn Sky Sun Dragon Caller, Kanna1901 - 最強装備, Juggler1949 - Lightning Black Dragonbound, Typhon1644 - Arbiter of Judgement, Metatron2592 - 裁秤の鋼星神・Eschamali2407 - Mistress of the Old Castle, Kali2360 - Mankind's Strongest Soldier, Levi


Changes from 1/7: None | The new MP Dragon Ragnarok is still an A+ sub, but there’s no official icon for it yet.
SS 2511 - Mistress of the Sanctuary, Kali2078 - Blazing Goddess of Power, Kali
S 1738 - Dominating Warrior King, Cao Cao2010 - Awoken Isis1747 - Sparkling Goddess of Secrets, Kali2180 - Pacifying Yomi Goddess, Izanami2282 - Placating Founder, Okuninushi2150 - Ominous Moon Dragon Caller, Satsuki
A+ 2073 - Awoken Leilan2235 - Avenging War Deity, Ares2074 - Awoken Karin2236 - Psychopomp Commerce Deity, Hermes2443 - 還爪の青龍契士・Ryuune2075 - Awoken Meimei2081 - Divine Creator of Order, Vishnu2509 - 伐爪の緑龍契士, Sylvie2237 - Moon Flower Huntress, Artemis2441 - 裁爪の橙龍契士・Saria1887 - 幸七羽毛・ヘッドロココ2533 - 遊山の天舞神, Amaterasu Ohkami2324 - Awoken Amaterasu Ohkami1785 - warrior rose, graceful valkyrie2076 - Awoken Haku2290 - Snow-White Beauty, Valkyrie Claire1644 - Arbiter of Judgement, Metatron2407 - Mistress of the Old Castle, Kali2261 - God of the Night, Tsukuyomi Dragon

The Game8 list

Sounds about right.

Instead of bashing the list as usual, let’s speculate who could get some love with the release of Arena 2.

2322 - Awoken Orochi Delays have always been good in the Arena — particularly against Parvati and Sopdet — and they’re also good against two of the biggest new hurdles: the PreDras and Vishnu (too bad delays don’t work against Ilsix). He’s more relevant than other delays since his four turns gives you the time you need to combat bad RNG. His biggest downside, which will probably keep him from rising higher, is the lack of a skill bind resist. I’d be surprised if Orochi doesn’t make the next sub list at A+. Perhaps he’s too niche for Game8’s list, but his newfound value shouldn’t be ignored.
2507 - Awoken Archdemon Lucifer Lucifer’s true damage is one of the best ways for dark teams to deal with the PreDras without sacrificing too much else. The power of his god killer should not be overlooked, either. As a leader, I don’t think he’ll make SS, but it wouldn’t surprise me to see SS go away soon; Lucifer should remain in S if it does. I don’t think Lucifer is an auto-include in the sub list — A+ is a pretty high bar now — but if Yomi Dragon retains its Arena throne, Lucifer will probably be a part of it.
2592 - 裁秤の鋼星神・Eschamali It’s a wonder how she wasn’t high on the sub list before, but now that’s she’s almost required to give Yomi Dragon the requisite damage in the Arena 2, I don’t think Game8 can snub her anymore. Her orb change also allows the team to drop Haku for more utility, like Lucifer and a gravity, since she can take care of gimmicks like Beelzebub’s full poison while providing sufficient burst. Her relatively high HP is also a big deal.
2255 - Sea Deity, Neptune Dragon I doubt Neptune Dragon will make the sub list, but it’s worth noting that BSonia and Ryune-I&I teams are relying on him to get past the PreDras. I’d expect Awoken Meimei is a good reason, too.
2084 - Capricious Summon, Fat Chocobo This is another speculation that won’t make the list, but any previously marginal sub with dark resists will get a second look as the necessary defense to survive DQ Hera’s preemptive has gone up considerably.
2534 - 紅日の寿龍喚士, Kanna As much I’ve hated on Kanna in the past, her damage may be needed more now than ever. As teams use sub-optimal subs to handle the various hurdles, something like Kanna can help make up the lost damage while also providing a relevant boost on the Kalis. It wouldn’t surprise me to see her as an A+ sub again in the future.
537 - Ultimate Fencer Santa It seems unlikely this will ever make it, but if it does I’ll be really, really sad.

And that’s all I care to go over for now. Feel free to let me know your own suggestions in the comments.

16 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Game8 JP Tier List 1/13/16

  1. “I doubt Neptune Dragon will make the sub list, but it’s worth noting that BSonia and Ryune-I&I teams are relying on him to get past the PreDras. I’d expect Awoken Meimei is a good reason, too.”

    Question regarding AMeiMei, can you please elaborate on her?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How do you think the Ra Dragon team will settle out with the new arena?

    I’m trying to figure out where to put plusses for futureproofing and am running Dkali, Chocobo, Indra, and Isis (the Isis and Dkali currently hyper)… But it seems like that won’t work going forward. I have access to basically every meaningful potential sub, but it’s super confusing considering the variation this early on top of how open RaDra feels to running whatever it wants.


  3. I agree, the degradation of A.Astaroth to A+ sounds about right…

    But I’m still wondering why A.Freyja/Sylvie team isn’t rated A+ (or at least A) too…
    Is it because of the element? I mean this team should nearly has the same subs as A.Astaroth, so I guess there shouldn’t be the problem or am I wrong here?

    I’m asking because I want to build up a tank team and I have 2 (or 3) options here:
    – Saria/Thor
    – A.Freyja/Sylvie (A.Astaroth)
    I have great subs on both side such as Freyja, Astaroth, Michael, Kushi etc for wood and Rowphael, Apollo, A.Ama etc for light. So I would have 12-14 rows with each team, which sounds good to me.
    I was leaning towards light because of the fact that light has no weakness against a certain element and because of the utility of the subs, but A.Freyja/Sylvie // A.Astaroth made me thinking since I practically could make 2 teams at once…

    Also I don’t do IAP so it’s harder for me to hypermax the whole team…:/

    I would really appreciate any suggestions!


    • Freyja/Sylvie just does a lot of things worse. The one big advantage is that it has an RCV multiplier, but that’s not that big considering every monster on A. Astaroth is Healer type. Freyja/Sylvie has a small advantage in the sub pool because of LS restrictions but that’s actually not a big deal. Then we look at Astaroth’s advantages: unbindable, has a higher combined HP multiplier (2.25x vs. 2x), and an ATK multiplier that is almost twice as much (20.25 vs. 10.56x). The reason that the sub pool isn’t a big deal is because other than Artemis I don’t think Freyja/Sylvie gets any benefits. On the other hand, because Sylvie doesn’t have an SBR and AAstaroth brings Freyja anyways, Freyja/Sylvie will need to bring 2 more subs with SBR than AAstaroth. Because of this, the other big potential monster advantage, Australis, can’t fit (assuming Michael, Artemis, SBR sub #3, Courage).


      • My analysis is mostly based on Arena (either version), and in light of that I forgot to mention that sub flexibility for AAstaroth lets her bring stuff like XMas Alraune for Arena 2. Courage is req. because otherwise Kali is very inconsistent.


        • Thanks for the reply Rust!

          Maybe I didn’t ask clear enough. I see the advantages of A.Astaroth over A.Freyja/Sylvie but what I actually don’t see is the difference between A.Freyja/Sylvie on the one hand and A.Thor/Saria or A.I&I/Ryuune on the other hand…

          A.Thor/Saria has the advantage of element over A.Freyja/Sylvie but that’s not the case for A.I&I/Ryuune. So could it be that water just has better subs available than wood in that case?

          Regarding Arena (old & new one): Which team would you recommend? A wood tank team (A.Astaroth) or a light one (A.Thor/Saria). A.Thor/Saria seems pretty versatile regarding the sub pool but I don’t know how consistently such a team could clear the (old & especially new) arena…

          Liked by 1 person

          • I honestly don’t know the salient differences between the teams and don’t want to speculate. I do think wood has the hardest time in the Arena, but I don’t know if that justifies being so much lower.

            For Arena 1, my personal pick would be Saria-Thor because they’re light and have what I think are the best utility subs. I don’t know much about the team for Arena 2, though. I’d wait until things settle down a bit in JP. I remember the initial Arena 1 clears being fairly irrelevant.


  4. On Game8’s cheat page for arena 2 they have 3 teams listed as viable
    1. Radra, Ororchi, Dkali, Dkali, Indra, Radra
    2. Nepdra, Orochi, Bonia, Hermes, Gabriel, Nepdra
    3. Lucifer, A.Haku, Akechi, Yomidra, Okuninushi, Lucifer.

    Nepdra with 29 dark resists survives hera
    Radra team, Dacho posted an update to his latent set-up, using team 1, shown above.

    Lucifer has godkiller, similar damage to yomidra, and built in pierce nukes, obviously very good in this version of arena. Losing bind immunity isn’t ideal, but there aren’t any exciting ways to reach the DQ threshold with yomidra at this time.


    • Assuming Skyozora’s damage values are correct, it only takes 27 Dark resists to tank the DQ Hera hit after we get the buff to Orochi’s HP(+300). Not sure if there’s anything meaningful to do with the 3 extra outside SD Resists though.


  5. Only tangentially related — any chance we’ll be getting a godfest Q&A thread? Would love to get some advice on whether to roll, and if past threads are any indication I’m guessing there’s more than a few others in the same boat.


  6. The most consistent runs i have seen are nepdra ones Luca lately posted his run and it was very smooth.
    Radra in the other hand have to bring orochi to delay predra and loosing his 100% sbr the runs are not consistent and players are forced to stall heavy for multiple indra / orochi
    I think nepdra and lucifer with built in solutions to arena 2 surpass radra pretty much the only thing he has over them is bind resist wich only matters in tama and kali.


Comments are closed.