Thoughts on the Game8 JP Tier List 1/27/16


Changes from 1/13: Some fire dude added to A
SS 2259 - Sun God, Ra Dragon2261 - God of the Night, Tsukuyomi Dragon
S 2253 - Destroyer God, Shiva Dragon2255 - Sea Deity, Neptune Dragon2389 - Awoken Sakuya2013 - Awoken Anubis2507 - Awoken Archdemon Lucifer
A+ 1954 - Awoken Shiva2445 - 最大の強敵, Raoh1955 - Awoken Lakshmi2443 - 還爪の青龍契士・Ryuune2393 - Awoken Idunn&Idunna2566 - 隔世の蒼龍喚士・Sonia2011 - Awoken Bastet2505 - Awoken Astaroth2012 - Awoken Ra2465 - Ushio & Tora2441 - 裁爪の橙龍契士・Saria2395 - Awoken Thor2447 - 南斗最後の将, Yuria2325 - Awoken Yomi2230 - 気狂いピエロ, Kite
A 2537 - 夢招福神, Horus2511 - Mistress of the Sanctuary, Kali2604 - 鈴蘭最強の男・林田恵2226 - 制約と誓約, Gon Freecss1956 - Awoken Parvati2534 - 紅日の寿龍喚士, Kanna1951 - Tome-Creating White Phantom Demon, Ilm2533 - 遊山の天舞神, Amaterasu Ohkami2324 - Awoken Amaterasu Ohkami2148 - Dawn Sky Sun Dragon Caller, Kanna1901 - 最強装備, Juggler1949 - Lightning Black Dragonbound, Typhon1644 - Arbiter of Judgement, Metatron2592 - Judging Scale Steel Star Goddess, Eschamali2407 - Mistress of the Old Castle, Kali2360 - Mankind's Strongest Soldier, Levi


Changes from 1/13: Cao Cao S→A+ (allegedly), Sanada Yukimura added to S, Eschamali added to S, Akechi Mitsuhide added to S
SS 2511 - Mistress of the Sanctuary, Kali2078 - Blazing Goddess of Power, Kali
S 2265 - Fierce Warrior, Sanada Yukimura2010 - Awoken Isis1747 - Sparkling Goddess of Secrets, Kali2180 - Pacifying Yomi Goddess, Izanami2282 - Placating Founder, Okuninushi2150 - Ominous Moon Dragon Caller, Satsuki2592 - Judging Scale Steel Star Goddess, Eschamali2273 - Deliberate Rebel, Akechi Mitsuhide
A+ 2073 - Awoken Leilan1738 - Dominating Warrior King, Cao Cao2235 - Avenging War Deity, Ares2074 - Awoken Karin2236 - Psychopomp Commerce Deity, Hermes2443 - 還爪の青龍契士・Ryuune2075 - Awoken Meimei2081 - Divine Creator of Order, Vishnu2509 - 伐爪の緑龍契士, Sylvie2237 - Moon Flower Huntress, Artemis2594 - 抗神機, Ragnarok Dragon2441 - 裁爪の橙龍契士・Saria1887 - 幸七羽毛・ヘッドロココ2533 - 遊山の天舞神, Amaterasu Ohkami2324 - Awoken Amaterasu Ohkami1785 - warrior rose, graceful valkyrie2076 - Awoken Haku2290 - Snow-White Beauty, Valkyrie Claire1644 - Arbiter of Judgement, Metatron2407 - Mistress of the Old Castle, Kali2261 - God of the Night, Tsukuyomi Dragon

The Game8 list

Doesn’t look like they made any Arena 2-related changes, which is a bit disappointing.

Monster Notes
2592 - Judging Scale Steel Star Goddess, Eschamali No surprise.
1738 - Dominating Warrior King, Cao Cao Cao Cao was allegedly demoted from S to A+. I say allegedly because he wasn’t on the list at all when I wrote this. Downgraded a lot or a little, it’s about time he got booted from S
2265 - Fierce Warrior, Sanada Yukimura2273 - Deliberate Rebel, Akechi Mitsuhide These guys rising to S is a reflection of the direction PAD is heading: actives that are basically two fused together. We’re already used to actives with added bonuses like haste, but haste in particular only makes your team better at what it already does. Fused actives actually increase your team’s capabilities. With Arena 2 putting so much emphasis on utility like true damage, poison and delays, this means you have one less sub slot than you would otherwise. Subs with fused actives like Sanada, Akechi, and Eschamali help soften the blow.

“That’s all well and good, setsu, but doesn’t Cao Cao fall in that category too?”. Yeah, he does, which is why he was only mildly annoying at S. The problem is the only team on the leader list that he’s great on is Shiva who arguably shouldn’t even be on it anymore.

Akechi’s use is pretty obvious, being a great fit for Awoken Lucifer and even Yomi Dragon despite his rows going mostly to waste. Sanada, though? I have no clue, but Game8’s little blurb on him points toward his prowess on farming teams being why he’s ranked there. When you think fire farming teams, you’re probably thinking of Shiva Dragon (who also arguably shouldn’t be as high as he is on the leader list), but he also qualifies for Raoh. Still seems a bit suspect to me — seems more like they just wanted another fire sub to replace Cao Cao — but if they’re going to value farming highly again then I guess this is somewhat acceptable.

And just think that these guys will probably get uevos this year. That’s going to be disgusting.

Monster Notes
2604 - 鈴蘭最強の男・林田恵 Whatever.

Did I miss something? Please leave a comment and let me know!

20 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Game8 JP Tier List 1/27/16

  1. What are your thoughts on Raoh? Do you think that he’s fit for A+ relative to the others on that list? Oh, and do you think AFreyr/Roah or Raoh/Raoh is better?


  2. The JP only Crows collab fire monster entices me insofar as I’m hoping they go a similar route with the Heroes UUVO.


  3. I guess the Arena 2 hasn’t been around long enough to faithfully judge the abilities of each leader in it, and as a JP player I can say that the original Arena appears often enough and so the need to create a farming team for it isn’t that big anyway.

    Anyway, I’m really happy to see Mitsuhide Akechi up at S. I’ve been playing Awoken Lucifer recently and that has made me really appreciate just how good he is. I really can’t wait for his uevo, and uuevo Pandora too. That the Lucifer subs can only improve in the near future has me so hyped.


  4. Huh. A list update that I (mostly) AGREE WITH? How out of character…

    Sanada is meh, but if they value fast farming, hard to beat Shivagon, and he’s a great sub, so whatever, IDK.

    Red crow guy is interesting. I DO think he’s good, just not really good enough for A+… IDK, I think that 25x is decent, especially for rows (I mained pre-buff Lakshmi, so I understand the damage output there), but the lack of an HP or RCV buff is meh for that low damage. I mean Lakshmi and Parv get 1.5x rcv, and they’re basically 40x leads. Now, what he does have is the dragon caller heartcross shield. Now, 75% damage reduction on demand is FANTASTIC. But, not working against pre-emptives is a big deal, and making a cross is a PITA on row teams. Now, the question is, does that buff excuse them for not having an HP or RCV buff in their LS?

    I don’t know. But with even one heart on the board, the lead’s AS gives you 4 more, so you’re basically guaranteed a shield on demand. All in all, I kinda think that this wouldn’t be a bad direction to take the heroes…

    Tangent: I want a lead that boosts HP (or leads a physical type team) and has the cross ability. I want a team that without any latents, can make a cross and take a hit from Kali. That is the kind of cheese I want (and expect) from the cross ability. Until we get that, or the cross actually affecting pre-emptives, I will always feel unfulfilled about the potential of the LS.


  5. Hey setsu, this comment is not related to this tier list, but with 5x descends coming and Hera sowilo in coin dungeons with 2x drops for 3 more days, do you think it would be worth stoning for about ~600 plus eggs? I want to finish hyper maxing my Yomidra team before arena 1 goes away and I don’t know if we’ll get another 10x before then. it’s probably important to mention my max stamina is 225 and I value stamina efficiency over time efficiency since I am low IAP


    • I hear 5x sucks, but I don’t know any exact numbers so I can’t give you any good advice. You have to weigh the various opportunity costs for yourself.

      Although I will say it’s not like Arena 1 is going to be gone forever. And I also believe it will take NA a long time to get Arena 2, using their past and current reluctance in giving us endgame content as the basis of my conjecture.


    • The consensus that I’ve seen is that 10x is the best, 5x is the second best with Sowilo (but ONLY with 2x drops in coins), 3x is after that, followed by 5x for anything other than Sowilo on 2x drops. So, all in all, if you’re wanting to save stones/stamina, it’s best just to wait for 10x to roll back around. Or so I’ve been told.


      • yeah I’m just gonna wait. the 2x drop does not apply for descends bc gung-ho doesn’t want my money I guess


      • Thanks for the information! I was going to see if I was going to farm some descends but there’s no Sowilo or Kanetsugu and stuff and my life is currently getting consumed by Poring Tower anyways (God Valk went 6/70+ and chibi is currently 4/40+, I think I’m cursed…..) so 3x normals whenever I guess!!


  6. I’m in the process of building a water team; still in the theorycrafting stage. I see that the tanky I&I-Ryune pairing is well-regarded. Is Sarasvati just too unpredictable? Wasn’t Meimei system just as much of a glass cannon as Sarasvati?


    • I don’t know what the Meimei System — something that was never a real team — has to do with Sarasvati. If you’re trying to somehow compare the two teams, Meimei is much better off since it has much higher max HP.


      • I was just looking at potential water leads and was wondering why Sarasvati wasn’t as highly regarded given its impressive damage output. I hear what you’re saying, though, that impressive damage output =/= real team.


        • The reason people made the Meimei system beyond the reason “because I could” was that it was consistent and easy to play. Not saying that match-five is hard per say, but it definitely takes more work than the Meimei system. In short, the Meimei system was a gimmick team whose time in the farming spotlight was stolen by Shiva Dragon. Sarasvati is an actual team, but seems like a poor choice considering the options water has now (Neptune Dragon, Lakshmi, BSonia, Ryune-I&I).


  7. Sanada is flex at best for Shiva Dragon since he overlaps with Ares, but he elevates the burst on Raoh/Freyr to absurd levels. Only Norse team that doesn’t need a gravity or Marionette for Kali, and like Akechi, Sanada has very flexible uses.

    NA seems pretty lukewarm on Raoh/Freyr in general even though it’s at that 40k HP sweet spot with a low-end burst strong enough to clear floors without enhance and a high-end burst rivaling a spike team’s. Maybe it’s the small sub pool and reliance on collab/special REM’s? Bind clear options are lackluster without an ace like Misato or Christmas RSonia for more haste stacking.

    Overall though, it’s a solid team and a nice counterpart to Shiva Dragon in terms of both typing and playstyle.


Comments are closed.