Collab REM Review – DC / Batman v Superman

I was very close to not writing this post. I felt it would just be a regurgitation of what I usually write about collab REMs — only true fans or degenerates should roll — which is particularly true here; there are a couple nice things at gold, but none of them are on the level of Raoh or Rukia. However, as I was going to do some research on this anyways, I figured I’d bring you what I found. This review won’t have quite as much work put into it as usual, but hopefully you can glean something useful from it anyways.


5-Star Gold Eggs

Grades are given relative to monsters of the same rarity.

Superman – A+ (S as a farming lead)
2824 - Guardian of Metropolis, Superman
Pros
  • Extremely strong 22x ATK, 1.82x HP farming lead
  • Cooldown reduced to 8 turns
  • Strong awakenings with devil killer
  • Now has skill up fodder
Cons
Notes
Superman remains the best roll in the REM and after his uevo has the most practical usage by far. By way of his excellent, unconditional leader skill — that has a surprisingly good sub pool — he’s a beast at farming, but also has endgame potential (although with skill inheritance, I’m not sure how much a single Arena 2 clear is worth nowadays).
He’s actually fairly similar to two other collab leads: Raoh and Cloud. All three are excellent at farming, have ATK multipliers in the 20s, have HP multipliers and have potential as leads in the late- to endgame. Superman is most effective as a row lead like Raoh, but also has the option to use TPAs to clear trash like Cloud. In dungeons where healing is needed, Superman can pair with Thor like Raoh does with Freyr (although perhaps not quite as effective due to the lower HP multiplier) or can use fire Amaterasu to heal to full like Cloud (although, once again, not quite as effective due to the lack of team hastes). These favorable comparisons make this card quite attractive to me and I’m going to try my best to snag one this time around.
As far as endgame potential, he compares favorably to Raoh due to the excellent sub pool with options like NY Hanzo, Sun Wukong, Raphael, Ilm, Apollo, Amaterasu, Thor–the list goes on and on. He even got a nice true damage utility sub in School Cinderella. I certainly wouldn’t roll for him as an endgame lead, but it’s nice to know that he has potential in that area. If you’re searching for a farming lead to complement Shiva Dragon and either missed out on Raoh or simply didn’t have the sub pool for him, Superman could be a good substitute.
As a sub, I think he’s generally inferior to both Saria and Apocalypse, but that’s mainly because I value the hearts so much. He works well on any just about any light team that can run him, but considering all the alternatives he’s easily replaced.

Supergirl – C+
1678 - Survivor of Krypton, Supergirl
Pros
  • A series of marginal buffs
  • Now has skill up fodder
Cons
  • Not strong enough to overcome the lack of a uevo and the awakening and/or leader skill boost that comes with it
Notes
The haste added to her active and the OE being changed to a TPA certainly make her more attractive, but in the end it’s not enough to compete in the current meta. Cards that only bring four awakenings need to be extremely good to be relevant — think Akechi — and Supergirl simply isn’t at that level. Which is tragic considering she’s a collab gold. I guess we have to wait another year or so to get meaningful buffs.

Batman – A
2827 - Armored Batman
Pros
  • Extremely powerful active
  • Devil type
Cons
  • Heart-cross leader skill clauses have never been worth the trouble
Notes
As an avid Pandora user, Armored Batman is close to being everything I could’ve wanted. Between Batman and Zuoh I’d have a hard time choosing; Batman’s active is much better — even with the Zuoh cooldown buff — and has actual RCV, but Zuoh brings a more relevant killer awakening and also has a time extend. However, as someone that greatly values the hearts Batman generates and was already considering using Ishida as an assist skill, he might just be the better sub. In addition to having orb change synergy with the Pandoras on your team, he also synergizes with any heartbreakers you might be running, giving a bit more flexibility in your active usage. Unfortunately, he doesn’t synergize with Akechi so there’s definitely some give and take. Outside Pandora, he’s also great on AD Lucifer and Zuoh.
Considering how much easier Zuoh is to obtain, I don’t recommend rolling for Batman specifically. However, I’ve been keeping tabs on the ever-expanding machine sub pool and Armored Batman could definitely play a huge role there in the future. Sadly, he doesn’t have any orb change synergy with Eschamali, resulting in a full dark board that can’t be used to activate her leader skill.
As a leader, he’s underwhelming, but still has some potential. The heart-cross mechanic has never lived up to the work needed to activate it, but Black Mist demonstrates that it can still be put to good use, even in Arena 2.

4-Star Silver Eggs

Grades are given relative to monsters of the same rarity.

What usually kills collab silvers from being useful are the lack of skill ups. In this case, though, that doesn’t matter too much as the cards themselves are abysmal. Wonder Woman’s uevo is nice, but it isn’t enough to consider this REM’s silver selection any better than most.

Aquaman – C
1680 - King of Atlantis, Aquaman
Notes
I&I has made almost all other water damage enhancers obsolete. Can fill as an emergency sub on teams like Nut, Skuld and BSonia. Although it’s a sad day for a card when it can be reasonably compared to King Bubblie.

Green Arrow – C-
1682 - Ace Archer, Green Arrow
Notes
The haste is a nice addition, but nowadays there’s little use for a card that only enhances orbs. Can fill as an emergency sub for Spica, but the further lack of skill boosts makes things dicey. Can also be a decent Osiris sub with all the OEs on the team and the haste combining well with his column change’s short cooldown. However, Armadel is generally a better option, if only because she can be skilled without Woodpys.

Wonder Woman – B
2825 - Invincible Heroine, Wonder Woman
Notes
Delays are becoming more common in wood recently, but most of them are locked in collab or special REMs. Compared to the ones that are not — Zhang Fei, WoodBahn, Draggie and Wee Jas — Wonder Woman is the best option in a vacuum. However, her excellent awakenings come at the cost of not being to skill her up outside of max-level uevo dupes and Woodpys so she isn’t always superior when taken in context.
Her types make her a bit difficult to find a good home for (usually god type is a boon, but… yeah…). Outside serving as utility on generic wood teams (Freyja, Bastet, etc), her attacker type qualifies her specifically for Summer GSonia and Ishida.

Flash – C-
1684 - Crimson Speedster, The Flash
Notes
As with Aquaman and I&I, Thor pretty much prices the Flash out of any reasonable use. He could be used as a budget sub on Cloud teams that lack Thor.

Batgirl & Batwoman – D
1686 - Vigilantes, Batgirl & Batwoman
Notes
Easily the worst silver in this REM. Could see potential use as an assist skill for Xin Hua or Typhon teams that need the damage enhance.

Conclusion

Collab REMs are usually depressing and this is no exception. I expect most players to pass on this, especially since none of the cards are critical subs on popular teams nor are leaders of particular worth. Personally, I’m excited for both Superman and Batman; I’m just hoping it doesn’t take too many packs to roll them both.

29 thoughts on “Collab REM Review – DC / Batman v Superman

  1. I roller like mad hoping for Batman cause im a huge fan of the caracter. 32 Rolls to get the first gold (superman). I thought it was time to stop, and seeing you rate superman as the best monster of the collab, im less sad to not having Batman. Why the hell do they stop putting collab monstres in the mp shop?

    Like

    • Ouch, but yeah, at least you got the best all-around roll. Not sure about the MP Shop thing; it probably has to do with the terms of the license and how profitable it is.

      Like

  2. Sadly I want to roll a batman in principle, but I have superman, supergirl, and both original batmans from the first time this collab came around -.-

    Like

    • I don’t think you’re missing out on too much with Batman. A solid card, for sure, but unless the machine type becomes relevant in the future, dark has enough alternatives to fill the gap.

      Like

  3. Lousy collab REMs make me happy that I’m not an IAP player. Getting Batman would be nice, but the odds are just too low. I just hope there’s never a Touhou collab, because at that point I’ll have to take out a bank loan to fund all my rolls.

    Like

  4. I’m not sure about how I feel about Batman, considering his skill is the exact same as the green Sengoku God, except only one skill turn cooldown instead of two. As for Superman/girl, I can’t find their fit on teams, beside maybe NY Horus. You figure a team out for him yet?

    Yeah, I’m that same guy.

    Like

  5. In regards to your review on Batman, would it be safe to say that Batman and Zuoh are interchangeable (depending on what type of team is built and the skill inheritance)?

    Right now, I’m leaning towards skipping this collar solely because I have 2 Zuoh’s in my box right now. However, the AS on Batman is very good, as mentioned in your review, and I’m still having an internal dilemma of rolling.

    Like

    • In general I don’t think rolling for Batman is worth it, even if you didn’t already have Zuoh. If you already have doubts, then you should probably skip rolling.

      Like

  6. Since Wonder Woman got a UVO, you should be able to get gauranteed skill ups by feeding lv 99 uvo dupes and save some py.

    Like

    • Yes, that was mentioned in her subsection, although I guess I should specify I mean uevo dupes and not just feeding raw dupes to herself.

      Like

  7. Rolled once for fun and got batman. Who would you axe (if any) for him on my awoken pandora team? D/d Vamp, Hanzo or Satsuki?

    Like

    • Batman has orb change synergy with Vampire, so he stays. For most cases Satsuki would get the boot first, but I could see some cases where her haste and ability to change jammers and poison could make up for not being devil type. So basically, “it depends”.

      Like

  8. As much as I’m tempted to roll for Batman alone, academy Rem dictates that I must pass…have you seen the YouTube of the JP player getting mostly fairy tale schoolgirls? Instead of chibi hell we’re going to get fairy tale girl hell…

    Like

  9. It seems like this collab sucks, and Summer and PAD Academy are both going to suck based on past experience.

    Knowing that NA never got the DBZ Collab, is there any chance at all that we might get the Shonen Sunday collab down the line?

    Like

    • DC is actually one of the better collabs NA has now. Which I guess is sad in its own way.

      Summer and Academy will have revamped lineups. It’ll still be bad, but not as bad as the first time around.

      I’ve long given up speculating whether we’ll get a certain collab or not. Whatever we get, we get. It’s not like collabs have a huge impact on any facet of the game. Since you mentioned Shonen Sunday in particular, I’d say that REM is significantly worse than DC, at least before the update that is coming soon. In its current state, DBZ is worse than both of them.

      Like

      • That is a bit sad, but I guess I’ll save up stones for one roll before the DC collab is over. If I get crap, I can always just sell it.

        I hope not. I might roll on Summer this year, if they actually make the REM useful (like Christmas) and not just put more girls in bikinis.

        True. The only reason I mentioned Shonen Sunday in particular is because I grew up reading a lot of the series that are featured in it, and I really hope it gets tossed stateside. I know it’s not a very good REM, but it’s appealing just based on the “childhood” factor. Which, admittedly, is a terrible reason to spend money.

        How is it worse than DC? I know that the two new Ults are good for their respective niches, and Wonder Woman is good because Wonder Woman and whatnot. The rest, as you wrote, are mostly inferior damage enhancers for leaders like I&I. That seems worse than general board-change seen throughout SS. Although there are those terrible Orb Enhance awakenings that populate that REM’s offerings.

        It seems like DBZ has been completely outclassed by the likes of Fist of the North Star and FF (at least, Cloud and Yuna).

        Like

        • The only card worth mentioning in Shonen Sunday was Ushio & Tora who is just a bad Rukia due to the horrible light TPA sub pool. Where Superman will be a beast of a leader and sub for a long time to come (certainly not “niche”). The only board changes in SS were Inuyasha and Ali Baba who are both gold; guess what, DC also has two board changers also at gold. I could go on, but the comparison is moot now as the REM has been updated. The question now is how good the updates are; Sinbad and Sesshoumaru have my attention, at least.

          For all the attention DBZ gets, it only ever had two relevant cards, Vegito (now obviously outdated) and Trunks (still an amazing sub). I guess Vegeta is not horrible, either. Considering how beloved the franchise it deserves some huge upgrades to be on par if not better than the latest collabs, if it ever comes back.

          Like

  10. I started reading and watching other people’s rolls and realized how lucky I am. I also realized how painful it is to roll after having not IAP’ed for 3+ months now.

    Rolled Batman first try 😀 Tried my luck again for Superman, but got Supergirl.

    I am also having a hard time deciding whether to put in Batman or Zuoh for my APanda team. Maybe both. I have quite a subpool for A.Panda:

    Hanzo, Prowler Vamp, Ult Panda, Akechi, Haku, Zuoh, Batman

    I still need to max Vamp, Zuoh, and Batman. I’m running Hanzo, Akechi, Haku, Panda right now. It’s nice to have a 5 turn active, but I’m definitely switching Hanzo to Vamp since I often find myself with excess hearts plus I need a 5th SBR. Haku + Akechi are always great, but I don’t like taking my chances with Haku when Akechi is not up. I’m probably dropping off Haku for Batman or Zuoh, which Panda can fix. Akechi does not go well with Batman or Zuoh, so I’m dropping him too.

    My team will end up like A.Panda/Zuoh/Batman/UPanda/Prowler Vamp.

    Zuoh and Batman can be fixed by any Panda and Vamp with quick active can break hearts from the other 4 heartmakers.

    Like

Comments are closed.