Weekly Roundup 66

hUzJOgi

The Past Week:

  • Last week’s roundup
  • PADherder
  • My one-week break was quite welcome and I wish that it had lasted longer, but with the FF Collab happening I was excited to roll so I decided to fire the game up again. During my break I got to play a few games that I had put on the back burner. While they were fun, they just didn’t scratch that itch like PAD does. So until I find a suitable replacement, PAD will likely remain a part of my gaming life to some extent. The game has been on a decline for quite a while now, but only now has it actually affected how I feel about it. As such, I’m hoping to keep my resolution of cutting my PAD budget. I’ll likely still go all out for collab and special REMs because I’m an addict, but I likely won’t be stoning for stamina as much nor pulling in the regular REM.

Next Week and Beyond:

  • I’m actually pretty disappointed with the recent news out of JP so I’ve pretty much stopped caring. New MP, GFE and gala cards are about as boring as it gets.
  • I rolled in FF and got everything I wanted, but the depression set in when I realized I have to skill them up. Not looking forward to that. I should probably skill up Antares and Castor before the dungeon ends; not looking forward to that either, but it should be better than FF. I’m surprised to find that skill ups are becoming the most dreaded part of the game for me since I’ve been immune to the futility for so long now, but after Bleach, just the endless grind for fodder that never drops is depressing as fuck.
24 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup 66

    • I’ve been purposely avoiding mobile games. I’ve been mainly playing Tree of Savior, but I just bought a PS4. I finished Uncharted 4 and I’m planning to get Bloodborne. I’ll also likely play the Valkyria Chronicles remaster. What I’m really looking forward to is Persona 5, though. I’ll probably play Dark Souls 3 on PC.

      If I were to try a new mobile game, it’d probably be Granblue Fantasy. Although I’d probably check out the usual suspects such as Fate, Shironeko and FF Record Keeper. I’m also thinking of seeing how Crusader’s Quest has progressed since I dropped it and as strange as it sounds, I’m also thinking of trying out LLSIF again.

      Like

        • Yup, I’ve heard that before and that’s what my impression of the game tells me, but I also hear that it’s improved over time. No harm in finding out firsthand which is correct. If I was really going to try to find a new mobile game to play, I’d be sure to try out all the popular offerings regardless of reputation.

          Like

          • How is the Valkyria Chronicles? Was tempted by it but I’m poking around to see what people think.

            Like

            • The original is one of my favorite console games of all time. The story is kinda meh, but it has some of the finest tactical RPG gameplay ever seen.

              Like

      • DO NOT PLAY FGO UNLESS YOU AREA FAN OF THE TYPE MOON FRANCHISE ITSELF.

        The gameplay itself is pretty shit and the gacha is even worse.

        Like

        • I’ve heard it’s pretty bad, but I figure if I eventually do shop around for a new mobile game to play then I may as well try out all the top money makers.

          Like

      • Valkyria Chronicles is one of my favorite games of all time! I’m excited about Azure Revolution, but pretty sure they’re going to eff it up:)

        Like

  1. I can’t wait for Arena 1 to come back so I can farm and stockpile pys instead of running skill up dungeons that have 50/50 drop chance and non garaunteed skill up.

    Like

    • I have about 40 of each Py stockpiled. I’m extremely tempted to use them here. Other than the drop rates, one of the worst things about FF is that all extra text each floor wastes so much time.

      Like

  2. Is there any monster you do not have that you want? It appears to be that you have most gods from the REM and from the Monster point collection

    Like

    • Probably Scheat, but I gave up chasing a single 6-star GFE a long time ago. I’m waiting for at least a new pantheon and several new GFEs before rolling in the normal REM again.

      Alrescha would also be nice because she’s cute.

      Like

  3. Skilling up Castor/Antares isn’t so bad since they’re the boss drops, and 3x is a nice bonus. Haven’t tried skilling any FF rolls, but it seems miserable.

    Last time FF was around I did a yolo roll and was pretty happy to get Rinoa as a box cheerleader. Tried again this time and obv. got a second Rinoa. Then a Tidus. Just can’t win T_T

    Agree that the JP news lately has been super boring – what happened to that great stretch of constant Awokens, Uuvos, and buffs to old cards?

    Like

    • Yeah, Castor and Antares weren’t so bad, but 50% chance to get the one you want is still frustrating (I needed 2 Castor and 1 Antares). At least it’s not trifruits (but you can button trifruits, I guess).

      Yeah, FF is still miserable, but it’s not nearly as bad as Bleach, so there’s that I guess.

      Also, that poor FF luck sucks. The gold rate is relatively great, but then you get Tidus and Rinoa 99.9% of the time.

      There’s a JP stream at the end of the month so hopefully we get some good news again. If it’s another stinker I’ll probably give up on ever watching them again. I love getting overhyped, but the letdown lately has been way too great. The only reason I haven’t given up earlier is because NA has had 10x to farm at the same time.

      Like

      • I ended up giving in to temptation over the weekend and bought/rolled slightly over one pack, and got 2x Cecil and 1x Lightning, along with 3 Bartz, 3 Squall, 2 more Tidus (or 3? Sold them all immediately), and various silvers, so all in all it worked out pretty well! Although I let my friend roll for me around five times and every time was a silver… @_@
        I have about 25 stones left, and it’s pretty tempting to just give them all to the FF REM in the hopes of getting Yuna, since the only card I really care about in PCGF is Eschamali, and Yuna is suuuper pretty.
        Now, I just need to figure out if I can make any kind of reasonable team for either Cecil or Lightning…

        Those FF Int dungeons are just complete skillup hell…give me Antares/PolluxTrifruits-style drops any day. Costs more stamina, but I don’t want to kill myself nearly as much (ok only a slight difference but still). I skipped Bleach, but I’m probably piing Lightning, Cecil, and Bartz since my luck has been pretty bad so far.

        I reeeeally hope we get something exciting from the upcoming stream. A few new Uuvos/Awokens isn’t that much to ask, right?? I’m not even being greedy and asking for a new pantheon (that isn’t based around jammers, gtfo with that nonsense).

        Like

          • Honestly I believe that the game isn’t all RNG. If I go on a bad feeding streak, I just stop and come back later. Likewise, I feed non valuable skill ups before ones I actually care about. I skilled up my Cecil and Cloud quite effortlessly in a few days doing this compared to trying to skill up my Ichigo.

            Like

  4. In your PADherder, you have all your expendable monsters included. Why do you take the effort to include low ninjas with +eggs if you are using such high quantities when you add new monsters on?

    Like

Comments are closed.