Godfest Help Post: 11/30-12/1

Grading scale. The individual grade is a composite grade of all monsters in it relative to all other pantheons. The combined grade is a composite of all monsters in both pantheons relative to all other combinations of pantheons. Combined grades are not an average of the individual grades, but based on the normal distribution of all possible two-pantheon combinations. Grades do not factor co-op or skill inheritance at this time.
Godfest: Greek & Wisdom Kings 11/30, Three Kingdoms & Wisdom Kings 12/1
Criteria
Day 1 Day 2
Greek Wisdom Kings Three Kingdoms Wisdom Kings
Leader
Individual B+ B- B+ B-
Combined B B+
Sub
Individual B+ B- B+ B-
Combined B B
Overall
Individual B+ B- A- B-
Combined B B

This is a help thread, so please feel free to ask questions on just about anything concerning the godfest or your teams, box and progress in general.

My vacation may be over, but I still have work. Looking to answer about 10 in-depth advice questions overall.

Please read the rules before posting, especially if this is your first time:

  • I will only take box questions that supply a PADherder. It makes it much, much easier for me to give good advice this way (you could say I can’t give good advice without the sorting options). Try PadListener to sync if you’re on Android (if it works for you), otherwise use this method.
  • Box/roll questions that don’t supply rank, IAP status and main teams will be ignored. Any other information you want to supply will only help.
  • Please check the FAQ after the break before asking a question. Questions that aren’t covered by the FAQ will be prioritized; questions that don’t may be ignored.
  • I have WordPress set to flag comments with multiple links to combat spam. I still get the comment, I just have to approve it manually for it to show up on the site. So if your comment doesn’t show up, this might be the case. Ideally, only post a single link to your PADherder.
  • I generally reply on a first come, first serve basis, but if there’s a low hanging fruit I’ll address that first.
  • I will post thread status as bold red comments. Make sure you read these comments before posting to make sure you aren’t violating the rules. I’m no longer segregating comments by day, instead I’ll indicate how many questions I be able to take for a given thread in the first status comment, then stop taking new ones after that.
  • No new questions will be taken after the godfest ends. Questions asked in other posts may be ignored; please wait for the next godfest!
  • Follow-ups to existing questions will be taken as long as the post is still open for comments.
  • I’ll close the post for comments a few hours after the godfest ends.
  • Any comments breaking the rules will be removed without warning.

FAQ

This is FAQ is a work in progress (last updated: 9/28/16).

  • I’m rank 200 or lower and low- or non-IAP, should I roll for X god? – In general, no. Even if the RNG gods blessed you and you just need that one god to perfect your team, early on you should be focusing on accumulating stones and waiting for a high-value godfest. You want to accumulate value to increase the overall quality of your box so you have more team options in the future as the meta always shifting. The Player’s Choice Godfest (PCGF) is generally the best value early on, but normal godfests can be plenty good nowadays depending on the combination. Pantheons that have a wide variety of uses like the Heroes, Chinese and Three Kingdoms are great. Minimizing dupe chances should also be a high priority. Galas have been changed to have a reduced impact ever since the gala exclusives were introduced so while it can certainly play a part in your decision, don’t let to weigh too heavily. As GFEs are generally at 4x rates or higher now, which sets are excluded from the bonus plays a much bigger role now.
  • Which MP Dragon should I buy? – This image isn’t perfect, but sums it up nicely. Credit for the image goes to fether from the subreddit. If there’s ever an updated version, please point me toward it. In the day and age of Liu Bei, MP is an easily farmable commodity so if that’s within your capability and you’re good with allocating the time to do so, you can afford to be more impulsive with your purchases.
  • Why is X monster rated higher than Y monster? – The monster ratings aren’t there to be an accurate, authoritative resource on a card’s power, but are more used as a ballpark estimate to give a relative idea of how useful a given card or pantheon is which is used to help evaluate godfests. Co-op isn’t a current factor so don’t be surprised to see cards like Liu Bei with a lower than expected rating.
  • Why is the overall rating not an average of the lead and sub ratings? – Long story short, when grades are given using the normal distribution, cards that are both good as leaders and subs get a boost in the overall rating while ones that are bad as both get penalized. This is because most cards in the game are usually only exceptionally good at one role, not both.

Grading scale. Ratings are weighed in favor of endgame viability. Ratings try to take the latest JP updates into consideration. The overall grade is not an average and is based on the normal distribution of the combined lead and sub ratings. Grades do not factor co-op or skill inheritance at this time.
Day 1, 11/30
Name Lead Sub Overall
Greek
2747 - Awoken AresAres B B+ B+
2748 - Awoken HermesHermes B+ B+ B+
2749 - Awoken ArtemisArtemis B+ B+ B+
2750 - Awoken ApolloApollo B+ B+ B+
2751 - Awoken PersephonePersephone B+ B+ B+
Wisdom Kings
3198 - Goddess of Demon Conquest, TrailokyavijayaTrailokyavijaya B- B B-
3200 - God of Good Health, KundaliKundali B B+ B
3202 - Goddess of Great Compassion, AcalaAcala A B- B+
3204 - God of Divine Insight, VajrayaksaVajrayaksa B- B- B-
3206 - God of Awe and Fear, VajrabhairavaVajrabhairava B- B- B-

The Greeks are all great cards, both as leaders and subs. Sadly, breaking hearts is a fairly big drawback in this heart-cross meta (god, I can’t tell you how tired I am of repeating this line. GungHo, shake things up pls).

The Wisdom Kings are relatively good for a new pantheon, but won’t actively help most players. Acala has been pushed hard as a lead, already at an elite level without an ultimate, but the pantheon falls off after that. Kundali is likely the best of the rest since a double orb change is always useful and the combo boost is a nice kicker. Trailokyavijaya introduced a new form of gravity based on maximum HP rather than current HP, but it’s unclear if this will be anything beyond a novelty. Vajrayaksa and Vajrabhairava have somewhat intriguing actives, both providing a three-turn damage enhance for their respective elements, but all damage enhances pale in comparison to the Gemstones and there aren’t many places were the extra turn will be all that useful. Damage enhances are always useful, but they’re nothing to chase after.

Metatrons, Norns, Steel Stars, and Dragonbounds are at 1x rates.


Grading scale. Ratings are weighed in favor of endgame viability. Ratings try to take the latest JP updates into consideration. The overall grade is not an average and is based on the normal distribution of the combined lead and sub ratings. Grades do not factor co-op or skill inheritance at this time.
Day 2, 12/1
Name Lead Sub Overall
Three Kingdoms
2901 - Awoken Cao CaoCao Cao B+ B+ A-
2902 - Awoken Sun QuanSun Quan B+ B+ B+
2903 - Awoken Liu BeiLiu Bei B+ B+ B+
2904 - Awoken Da Qiao & Xiao QiaoDQXQ B+ A A
2905 - 凶星の飛将神・Lu BuLu Bu B+ B B
Wisdom Kings
3198 - Goddess of Demon Conquest, TrailokyavijayaTrailokyavijaya B- B B-
3200 - God of Good Health, KundaliKundali B B+ B
3202 - Goddess of Great Compassion, AcalaAcala A B- B+
3204 - God of Divine Insight, VajrayaksaVajrayaksa B- B- B-
3206 - God of Awe and Fear, VajrabhairavaVajrabhairava B- B- B-

The Three Kingdoms are still one of the best overall pantheons. Liu Bei is still one of the best overall cards in the game. This is likely the bait to lure extra rolls before GungHo lays on the holiday temptations in the PCGF (presumably), the New Year’s godfest, the Christmas and New Year’s seasonal REMs, and the eventual Heroine REM (also presumably). Add in a potential Bleach renewal for good measure. Where to roll is a difficult decision, for sure, but for the most part most players will be better off passing on this one.

Odins, Kalis, JP Callers, and Sonias are at 1x rates.

32 thoughts on “Godfest Help Post: 11/30-12/1

  1. Hi Setsu, not sure if you remember me, but I mainly want to say a big thank you for helping me transition from a slap-dash early game team, to one that helps me push into mid game, and clear some of the early descended.

    This is my box right now, and i have moved from rank 150-ish to 230, and just cleared kotg for the first time yesterday.
    https://www.padherder.com/user/Lunairee/

    current team: Bacetet, A.artemis, Mei mei, zuoh, GOdin.
    iap status: non-iap, unless there is a really good deal in store.

    Thinking of rolling on day 2, mostly for a way to diversify my box.
    Right now it feels like other than my main team, i don’t have a reliable second team. (mostly for fire heavy dungeons that is hard to clear with my wood team)

    Like

    • It’s good to hear that you’re progressing well.

      I don’t think your box has enough options to consider diversifying at this point. I’d continue to concentrate on developing your wood teams. There will definitely be dungeons that present bad match ups, but for the most part Bastet Ace should be strong enough clear them. I’d consider raising your Freyja for the damage enhance to help with that. I’d look into investing Woodpys into your Artemis who is likely your strongest card at this point.

      I think day 2 is fine if you want the Three Kingdoms, but I don’t see the Wisdom Kings helping you much. There are probably better opportunities down the road. One has to be careful in not overrating the potential of the PCGF, but in this case it’s probably better to wait for that. It really depends how many stones you’re sitting on.

      Like

      • I think i have decided not to roll this god fest.

        my next target is actually evolving my meimei into awoken meimei. Just waiting for a descended with zhao yun in it, since he is the only thing I’m missing.

        I will also work on my freyja then. I only have enough jewel for 1 green awoken right now, and I think mei mei benefits my team more (correct me if I’m wrong). Which freyja should I go for? I can make either of the other 2 evo.

        Thanks =)

        Like

  2. Link to PadHerder: https://www.padherder.com/user/allenlin/monsters/#31,0,31,8191,4294967295_63,0,,0,0,0,eq,0,0,0,0,;boxatt,0

    Hello Setsu ^_^, FF collab treated me quit well, Sephiroth with just 25 stones. Just wondering where I should go with my box right now. Day 1 looks great since it has the good GFE and i have a whopping 0/10 gods from the pantheons but there’s always that thought of PCGF right around the corner. Would always love your thoughts and opinions?

    Like

    • Ah yea, I normally don’t IAP but I’m planning on buying a pack for PCGF, I’m at rank 330 and my goal right now is to build a team that can clear annihilation content in solo mode.

      Like

      • Whlie avoiding dupes is indeed a good idea, you also have to ask yourself where you’re going and how you’re going to get there. If your goal is to solo Annihilation dungeons, how exactly are you going to do that? Aside from specialized teams, the easiest way to accomplish that would be some sort of heart-cross lead or maybe uuevo Ra Dragon. In that light, day 1 doesn’t really help you progress towards that. It appears that you’re working on a Myr team, so I’d probably concentrate on that. I don’t think Sumire is good enough to consistently solo Annihilations since, in general, she doesn’t do enough damage.

        As for where you should roll, I’d probably save what you have now to combine with that pack you have lined up for the PCGF. There’s a high probability of the lineup being favorable for what you’re trying to accomplish. I’d anticipate many heart-cross cards to be voted in.

        Even beyond subs, you really need hypermaxes. This means putting together teams to efficiently farm +eggs and Arena 1 is also important. Soloing Annihilation dungeons is extremely difficult even for veterans and there’s definitely an order to things to progress to that point.

        Like

  3. Hello setsu, thank you for helping out!

    Rank: 351
    IAP Status: Light, currently on hold
    Box: https://www.padherder.com/user/monger
    Teams: APandora, Roots, (Ronove, AShiva)

    At the moment my focuses are finishing my Ronove and ReShiva teams, putting together an MP farming team (probably AustralisxALB due to time), and picking up stones. MP would likely lead to a RagDra, plus I could actually skill up rogue bosses.
    Other than those goals, I’m also considering building Myr and a team for her, as well as starting on Ilm and exploring options there.

    More specific questions:
    -Is Ronove still effective without RagDra or Kaede? I know that it won’t be top tier effective, but enough to justify using him over Roots sometimes. Current team: Roots / (Gainaut -> Linthia) / (ASakuya/GRParvati/Flex?) / ReParvati
    -Similarly, is Myr with mostly mediocre subs still good thanks to Myr? Planned team: Wukong / light ninja / Wee Jas / (AThor/lemon dragon/flex)

    And the question you’ll probably be seeing a lot- D2 of this godfest vs PCGF. Coming into November I aimed to store a pack of stones for PCGF, but that got drained by the GFE machine and FF- at the moment I’m sitting on 9 rolls.
    D2 has a lot of cards I’m looking for- all of 3K (as long as ALuBu is good) and most of WKs- but most of those will likely make the PCGF as well. At the same time, I don’t think that, for example, Kundali will get in, and if the voting is as close as last year, there’s a chance that another good card like DQXQ will miss the cut. The GFEs aren’t ideal either (no Callers), so I’m generally iffy as to whether the day is actually good for me or if I’m just trying to rationalize rolling.

    Again, thanks for taking the time to answer questions and create content in general.

    Like

    • Went back and realized how long this ended up being, sorry. Just wanted to let you know that I won’t be offended or anything if you skip it/parts of it- you do enough already🙂

      Like

    • – I guess it depends what you mean by effective, but, in general, yes, Ronove is still good without those cards. You really want at least one of the two to stomp endgame content, but he’s a good enough card to carry you through difficult content regardless. Is he better than your Roots team? Most likely.
      – Myr is great because she can still function with poor subs, basically elevating them a tier or two beyond what you might normally expect to clear with them. However, she’s probably still worse than your current Roots and potential Ronove teams. What you’re missing are core pieces beyond Wukong. If you still wanted to try, I’d probably switch up the subs a bit. I’d probably go Wukong / Apollo / June Cinderella(Penelo) / flex. Where flex is something from Wee Jas, Elia, Fuma Kotaro, and June Sopdet. I’ve found the TPA version of the team to be very good for conserving orbs which is something you’ll need with less than optimal subs. Apollo might seem a bit counterintuitive, but you really need some burst and pairing his active with a heartmaker will give you that.

      I actually don’t think the Wisdom Kings are all that useful. I mean, which of them do you need and for what? There’s obviously no guarantees with the PCGF voting, but I think, of all things, Myr subs all have a very good chance of getting in, if that’s what you’re worried about. Day 2 is fine since you have no 3K dupes, but I personally don’t like the Wisdom Kings all that much.

      Also, just want to add, since you have 2 Eschamalis the eventual Yomi Dragon uuevo will likely play a big part in your box’s progression. Who knows when that will be revealed, but it could play into your decision to buy Ragnarok Dragon.

      Like

      • I honestly can’t remember what I meant by effective, but it’s good to know that Ronove isn’t entirely dependent on his best subs.
        The Myr team looks good (June Cinderella exists? huh). I was considering pairing with a board change inherit Myr for burst, but having it through subs is great.

        Most of my WK love was due to wanting to make more teams, but after pairing with Trail/Kundali, I’ve remembered a) what a scrub I am and b) how easily I can be swept up by hype (even if it’s my own??). Acala Seraphis was fun though.
        PCGF- It’s always a surprise when I remember just how close the vote was last time, but you’re almost certainly right- most everyone wants Myr subs because most everyone wants Myr.

        >the eventual Yomi Dragon uuevo
        At least it’s a potential purchase if I want to use a sparkle lead/to farm Arena. Maybe if I can get MP farming.

        Thanks again for the advice!

        Like

  4. Hi Setsu, I’m wondering whether or not I should roll on day 2 of godfest. I mainly run Krishna, Sumire, Gremory, and am working on a Noctis team. However, I do most of my farming using a ghetto alb setup (3 MS dios + verdandi or tengu with Australis or Grodin lead). So you can see how I might be tempted to roll day 2. I am very light IAP, sitting on about 5 stones right now. I am considering IAPing specifically for this godfest.

    https://www.padherder.com/user/thedevinhimself/monsters/#31,0,31,8191,4294967295_63,0,,0,0,0,eq,0,0,0,0,;default,0

    This is my padherder. What would you do?
    Thanks in advance🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re almost certainly better off waiting for the PCGF, but considering the uncertainty of when it will occur and what will appear in it, I couldn’t blame you for going for it now. Just know that the Wisdom Kings in general aren’t that great — for now, at least.

      Like

    • It seems like you’ve identified your good leaders so I don’t really have anything to add. Your next best teams might be Saria-Thor (or maybe Saria-Tifa now) or Tsubaki, but both are so much worse than your other options there really isn’t any point.

      Like

  5. Looking for general advice: https://www.padherder.com/user/tullidil

    I’ve got most of the ideal Ronove team, the makings of a decent Myr team, and a middling Kaede team, and the pieces for a Sumire system.

    My question is: what now? As far as stones go, I feel like there’s not a base sub in any pantheon I’d really be chasing except for a Venus for my Myr, or an additional Kaedes, except they’re so secondary to my existing Ronove team. As far as leads, the only one I can really see benefiting me now is ALB, because a push-button team is something I still lack.

    In the meanwhile, in terms of progression, I’m angling for a MAthena, because I’ve got 2 Spicas, Avalon Drake, Ragdra, Ronove, and Balboa, all premiere subs for her. In the downtime/in-between I’ll be trying to uevo and skill up my Myr. Is that pretty reasonable? Or is there something else I should be aiming for?

    Like

    • If you’re willing to put the time into farming, I strongly suggest doing so as it will significantly increase the rate you improve your box. You’ll generally want dedicated teams for +eggs, guerrillas, MP, SDRs, and Arena 1. As you seem to have already identified, Liu Bei and MAthena will cover most of those needs. While you can certainly get by without a Liu Bei, I think he makes life much easier. It’s obnoxious rolling for a single card, but when your box gets to your level, there’s not much you can do about that. I’d also agree pursuing MAthena team, especially since there’s overlap with your Ronove team. Even with the reveal of Tan skill ups, you’ll still need Pys and, at least for the short term, there’s no better team than MAthena for it. Outside that, it’s really about fine tuning your teams, but outside that you’ll generally be using your stones for stamina refreshes.

      Like

  6. Hi Setsu, I don’t need any PAD help for now, but could you do me a favor and tell me how I could update my Padherder without using Padlistener? I have ios so Padlistener doesn’t work for me, and since I’m rank >450 I don’t want to waste a good 2 hours inputting all my monsters only to reupdate them every week or so. Thanks!

    Like

  7. Hey Setsu,

    Padherder: https://www.padherder.com/user/Dclove/monsters/

    My main question is whether or not I should use all my stones for this godfest in attempts to get Acala, or whether there is any point in me waiting for the PCGF. I’m rank 460+ (I do not have my phone with me right now to confirm), Non-IAP except for the one time deals, and I have a very well populated box with a lot to work on already.

    The teams I run right now are:
    Ronove, Krishna, Myr, Lakshmi, Yuna, Noctis(YOLO roll), Bacetet, ALB, and a few other leads here and there.

    Questions:
    Do I have decent enough subs to really be considering rolling for Acala?
    What are some good team compositions for Noctis? I’ve searched some videos online and got a general idea but just wanted a second opinion.
    Should I even roll in the PCGF knowing I have most of the cards that will be in it?
    Are there any hidden leads in my box that I didn’t mention and have a good team for?
    Could I maybe even just roll more in the FF in hopes of Tifa or some other 6 star? (I have Cloud, Yuna and Noctis)
    Basically, where should my stones go? I know I need more plusses and Awakenings, so maybe I should just use them to farm those up?

    Thanks in advance,
    Dclove

    Like

    • You seem really all over the place, but I think all your questions can be solved by answering a single question: what is it exactly that you want to do?

      You already have good endgame teams and a Liu Bei farming team, so there’s really no pressing need to do anything in particular. This means you’re pretty much free to do what you want. I’d personally focus on farming — Pys, SDRs, +eggs, etc — but if that’s not your thing there’s no need to force it. I think chasing cards you think would be fun is a completely valid way to play. This means if Acala or Tifa or whatever appeal to you then I think it’s fine to try rolling for them. Basically, do you want to keep improving an developing your box or do you want to do your own thing?

      I think you have a decent sub selection for Acala (I’ll be talking in context of her post-buff, meaning she’ll want fire orbs too). Verdandi is an obvious inclusion. Awoken Artemis is still a good addition despite changing fire orbs away. The skyfall buff is really good on this team. Liu Bei is also a good sub. Unfortunately you don’t have the Vishnu to really round out the team, but something like Kaede or GValk isn’t bad, either.

      For Noctis I think you just have to go with your best TPA subs. Time extends are also valuable since the average player will need a lot of time to clear the board with 4-orb matches.

      Like

      • I just really like the variety the game can give me in terms of playstyles and team compositions. I’ve already determined the best teams for my existing leads, so I just want to figure the ones I like the most. Been playing this game for long enough to realize it’s more fun when you don’t use the same team.

        Anyways, I rolled Acala in 4 rolls today, so I’m going to be focusing solely on team progression from now on. Thanks for suggestions on the Acala team, my biggest concern was whether or not Artemis is still a good post buff sub.

        Like

  8. Not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but I was wondering what your Machine Athena Arena farm team was? I’ve been wanting to farm arena some and not sure what’s optimal as far as inherits and stuff go.

    For subs I have the options of Balboa, Ronove, and 4 Spica pretty much. Right now I have it set up with the 4 Spica and was thinking Amaterasu (not awoken for the full heal) on Athena, then 2 of the Spica’s have Carat and Ishida Mitsunari. I’m not sure if those are decent and then also what should go on the other two.

    Like

    • What’s ideal varies from player to player and also depends on what your partner has.

      I do think each team should have at least two Ragnarok Dragons. One side should have a Kotodama for Sopdet. Utility skills should be inherited on the MAthenas, either 2 delays or 1 delay and 1 full heal. Each side should have at least one Australis inherit and at least one board change inherit. One side needs a damage enhance for the Kali floor (Carat is pretty much ideal). For the remaining subs and assist skills, it really comes down to preference. I really like Ronove as a sub for the time extends and the reasonable expectation to use both his inherited skill and base skill in the same run. Liu Bei inherits will also increase your clear rate.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

