Quick Thoughts on the JP Stream 2/20/17

Since there’s so much to cover, I’m going to change up the format a bit. I’ll go over the (few) changes that interested me and I’ll leave it up to the comments to ask about anything I didn’t.

Sources: PDX and Reddit.

There’s a lot to cover, but, for better or worse, there are only a handful of meaningful changes.

  • Folders – Maybe the most important change revealed in the entire stream. QoL updates like this are huge. This was one of my 2017 wishlist points.
  • 3P Multiplayer – It’s hard to judge this without knowing the details or what the rewards are for running it. It looks like they’re going to have matchmaking which is absolutely critical to the mode’s success. If matchmaking is good, I can see this being fun, although I’m not sure how NA’s relatively lower player population which is segregated by time zones will affect the ability to find matches. I’m thinking even with good matchmaking they’ll have to incentivize playing the mode to get the ball rolling, although not nearly as much as co-op.
  • Incoming Verdandi Buffs – Seeing as she already has nine awakenings, they can really only buff her leader skill. I’d love to see Verdandi be a relevant lead again. Or maybe they’ll go the Tsubaki route and give her a split; that would be ideal.
  • Rank 500 REM – This is pretty sweet. While the Legendary Heroes aren’t as great as they were upon release, there are plenty of rank 500s that could use a Gemstone.
  • REM Renewal – Removing Fruit Dragons, Elementals and Late-Bloomers. Thank you.
  • New Weapons and Dragons – I guess if they remove something, they have to add something as well. We’ll see if they’re any good. It’s hard to be worse than what they’re taking out, though, so it *should* be an overall upgrade.
  • Kenshin Collab 2 – If Hiko Seijuro is not amazing I’ll be quite sad. I’m ready to be quite sad.
  • 55 Farmables Made Inheritable – This really helps out newer players and should help some veterans fill some holes in their repertoires. The most inherently powerful skills are probably Valk Ana, Cauchemar, Linthia, and Gainaut. Serket is somewhat interesting. Zhang Fei is an interesting utility option. Jormungandr is an inheritable poison. The need for a farmable, inheritable poison was reduced with the release of ROdin Tamazo, but not all players got him and at 11 turns, he’s only one turn longer than Mini Lilith.
  • 55 Buffs
    • Avalon Drake – NA getting more skill boost sticks is huge. Unfortunately, it’s in the same element as Tengu. At least Avalon brings some quality awakenings as well.
    • Dantalion – Now has a 30% damage shield when reaching two heart combos. Adding a bit of tankiness to a glass cannon is a welcome addition. I’m not sure if he’ll break into the tier lists again because of this, but until I actually seem some videos out of JP I think he’s at least worth considering.
    • Scheat – Yeah, that’s +500 ATK. This helps address her most glaring weakness of hitting like a wet noodle without a TPA.
  • 55 Evos
    • Heroine – Everyone seems disappointed. I think this is justified. GungHo once again shoots themselves in the foot by building up hype and not delivering. What we got are nominal upgrades that are more inline with “buffs” rather than “ultimates”. To exacerbate the issue, the 5- and 6-stars aren’t even uevos; they’re evos that require max level to evolve which are then reset to level 1. Revos work in a similar manner, but get more of a pass since they’re updates to relatively older cards and the Heroines feel like you’re leveling what is essentially the same card twice. I never expected these evos to be gamebreaking, but I was expecting a little more.
      • Kuvia – I love skill boosts, almost as much as I love time extends. I also love the substantial ATK increase of 1,166 to 1,516 (consider Kanna is at 1660 ATK). I think this makes her the best overall value in the REM.
      • Mel – She still suffers from the same problems as before, but 7x ATK is close to being worth the effort, especially with the built-in 3 second time extend. However, beyond being a poverty leader to pair with the new Dantalion, I don’t see her seeing much use.
      • Mito – I felt like she should’ve had the bind recovery awakening in the first place. Really would’ve liked a skill boost instead. On a tangent, this is probably going to be one of my most used cards from this REM. Definitely way behind Meridionalis, but Ilmina is the only other card I foresee using a similar amount.
      • Momiji – Getting a skill boost helps shore up her biggest weakness as a base sub. She also gets +200 ATK which is pretty solid for a double pronger. I like her much more now.
      • Sheena – I would’ve liked to see another skill boost rather than an SBR (or why not both?).
      • Elgenubi – Seeing as she already had nine awakenings, I was hoping for a significant leader skill upgrade. While becoming a 2.25/36/2.25 lead is pretty solid, still being limited to machines hurts even niche prospects.
      • Meridionalis – The last thing she needed was another water row. A skill boost would’ve made her much better for farming and a wide assortment of utility awakenings would’ve made her better in the endgame.
      • Romia – Perhaps the best all-around buffs. An SBR makes her a solid sub, for Acala in particular, and the upgrade to 5x makes her a much better leader choice (although I still don’t see her seeing much use outside niche uses).
      • Navi – I guess asking for a 7-combo awakening would be asking for too much? An offensive awakening of that caliber would’ve gone a long way toward making her a better leader and sub.
      • Barbara – Leader skill wasn’t expanded to dragons which is a huge disappointment. While 4/64/4 is enticing, there just isn’t enough sub support.
      • Ilmina – Not really sure what to think about this. 7k base HP is pretty crazy, though.
      • Uruka – At first I thought the leader skill changes were in addition to the shield, but it looks like we’re simply trading it for 2x RCV and a slight bump to offense. I guess I shouldn’t expect a huge upgrade from a card that was just released.
      • Julie – A slight bump, as expected (as was losing the glasses). Although I guess expanding the HP coverage to wood opens the door for a wood-centric team.
    • Awokens – It feels like we can’t expect good leader skills from awokens anymore.
      • Amon – The main downside compared to his uuevo is losing bind immunity. The switch to TPAs is also questionable, especially when two of the card’s four base awakenings are rows. It’s hard to see where his hybrid awakenings will make a big impact. Water is lacking in top-tier TPA leads and perhaps the best there is, female Ranma, he doesn’t qualify for since he converts fire orbs. It’s always good to see more TPA support in water, though.
      • Baal – Baal is decidedly less interesting since light already has plenty of great TPA and hybrid subs. Losing bind immunity and the multi boost makes him less interesting for farming. Short of desperation for a TPA sub, I don’t see many people switching to this form.
    • Satsuki – Well, we finally got her.
      • Leader – A 1/49/2.25 lead for dragons and attackers. About what could be expected considering what DKanna got and Satsuki being a 5-star. I was somewhat expecting her to swap to light-main, and she might have a slightly better sub selection in light, but, whatever.
      • Sub – The fourth TPA was what everyone was expecting and, in my opinion, somewhat exceeds expectations as she’s only about 60-80 less ATK than Kanna (I was expecting worse and, yes, they had to actually lower her ATK from 1703 to 1603 for this). She’s a different beast than Kanna, though, bringing 2x SBR and a devil killer instead of bind immunity. Unfortunately, her new typing precludes her from DAthena teams. On my poverty JP alt I lack Durga and I actually considered running her for the 2x SBRs even if she changes water orbs.
    • Future Ulimates – This is just the first wave and there are some interesting inclusions in the stream’s graphic.
      • Perhaps the one that stands out the most is Seraphis, the base form of Orpharion. What this could mean, I have no idea.
      • Both Metatrons – Considering the forms listed, it looks like they’re getting splits which, after the Odins, was expected.
      • Nephthys – Nep is one of the major reasons I’m still playing my JP alt; I’ve been waiting for buffs seemingly forever. I’m not expecting all that much, but I’d just be happy to get something that’s reasonably usable.
      • Angels – Ariel and Famiel are surprisingly absent, so I’ll just assume they’re coming at a later date. Speaking of Ariel, maybe it’s better than Max couldn’t participate in the buff competition? Or maybe if he won, she’d get something even better? It’s hard to say with GungHo.
      • Heroes – I’m extremely curious what they’re going to do with this pantheon, especially since Pandora, who already has an awoken, is also included (presumably getting a revo?). Yamato has become a key farming piece, so here’s hoping they either make him better in that respect or do something totally different. Going halfway, like what they did with Amon and Baal, would be very disappointing.
      • Ars Nova and Goetia – I don’t have much hope that they’ll become impact cards, but I’m surprised to seem them included on this list.
      • Liu Bei – Sun Quan and DQXQ are also included (and Cao Cao and Lu Bu are not), but considering how widespread Liu Bei’s usage is, it’s surprising to see him get another ultimate (presumably a revo considering the icon being shown?).

As stated earlier, feel free to ask me about anything I didn’t cover (or did cover) in the comments.

60 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts on the JP Stream 2/20/17

  1. RIP Zhuge Liang and Guan Yu, never getting uvos, just minor buffs (Well, RGY isn’t too bad, actually). LZL in particular; triple TPAs are cute, but he’s still severely lacking for a 6* non-GFE card, with a rather long cooldown, rather eclectic awakenings (Rows? Dark Resists? Really?) and a mediocre LS. Still pissed I rolled him randomly…

    Still, stream wasn’t…all bad. I mean, most of the Uvos and Buffs were. Heroine “Ults” are a dud in more than 1 sense, most of the Reincarnated monsters were lackluster in one way or another, and the random buffs only really normalized the random buffing and gave a few crappy monsters a slight boost. Reincarnated Chinese look like they’re gonna be good for the most part though, 7 combo awakenings are gonna be sweet on them.

    I have a soft spot for RHermes, though, as I feel he might pair well with Meri for an Endgame team with rather High Overall multipliers (2/79/2.5) and at least 8 rows. This is coming from somebody who does have their own Meri, and doesn’t have Hermes at all, mind you; I just think the Pairing might be cute.

    Like

    • Pretty much inline with most of the card buffs: nice, but not going to have a huge impact on the game. 9 jammers for 10x is still a ridiculous requirement. At least now you can stall better.

      Like

        • While upgrading the leader is always good, what they really need are better jammer subs. Without a killer sub, there’s not much incentive to pursue the team. The problem with jammer subs, though, is that they can’t really be used elsewhere which is probably the reason why they’ve stopped making them.

          Like

          • Yea it’s never good when the only viable sub is itself…plus there are very few light devils…2.25/225/2.25 is very good tho with the right team

            Like

            • Dupe Viz, Ilm(ina), Revo Venus, Roots, Yang Guifei, Revo Baal, Arz Nova. There are few, but they are pretty good. Looks possible to run either a row or TPA focused mono-light team.

              I don’t have a Viz though 😦 I think there’s an interesting possibility to Fenrir x Viz, upgrading Fenrir’s tankiness an easing in his color coverage to requiring green only. Dark devils, as well, are much easier to field, but you are then playing rainbow + jammers instead of mono light jammers.

              Like

  2. This stream was a mess, I’ll be honest here and I’m really really confused by some decisions, so I’ce decided to start with pros and than go on with cons:

    Pros:
    – Kano getting buffed. I like Kano and if they’re smart enough to makr her Immune to binds she could finally be a strong Kaede sub!
    – GZL, the Valks and RevoBastet getting buffs. The Valks in particular could benefit from them, since the heart-meta lowered her Sub value a lot!
    – New Ults for Japanese 2 (probably the most disappointing Awokens); Revo Meimei, of they’ll go the same route as with Haku I won’t be disappointed since Haku got one of the better Revos so far.
    – And finally: A new Ult for LMeta! (Let’s hope they won’t troll us again!)

    Now to the cons:
    – Heroine Evos. ‘Nuff said! (Eventhough they finally fixed Mito’s art.)
    – Awoken Amon is one year too late to be relevant.
    – Reincarnated evolutions are still terrible! Besides maybe Haku none of these cards get any new Value! Especially Yomi and Sakuya won’t benefit from higher multipliers if their actication is as horrible as before, they’re just not worth the effort!
    – Revo Astaroth. I’ll be honest, I’m really biased when it comes to Astaroth. She was a very good leader last year and without her I wouldn’t be near as far as I am right now. She was my weapon of choice for most descendeds as she’s very very forgettable and I was a huge noob back than! But this just annoys me, at when was HP a problem for her? She always had massive HP and 2times is too much. They should have just stayed with 1,5 HP and gave her access to attacker subs as well, since her subpool is just as restricted as last year and her best subs are still Michael, Cauchemar etc. I’m really, really disappointed since this could have been her time to shine again, especially since she was always overshadowed by Lucifer.
    – Now Revo Lucifer or Thor. This is my biggest disappointment. I own both and was really looking up for their Reincarnated forms, since they were the undeniable winners of last years tank meta. Having them not listed is really annoying, since I was hoping for them to make a comeback! However seeing how lame Astaroth and Loki are, they wouldn’t have improved this much, but still, a huge disappointment nonetheless…

    Like

  3. How do you think revo izanigi fairs up to myr as a lead? 50% damage reduction and 4x with a heart cross along with 2x rcv and attack for God, Dragon AND balanced type… Myr and aizen have carried me to my current rank; I’ll probably continue using aizen but do you think izanagi’s revo will make him more popular than myr?

    Like

    • He’s bindable, his active is much weaker, he doesn’t have the free 4 seconds, and the rcv boost doesn’t really matter as long as you’re heart crossing, though I imagine it makes ti easier to stall since you need fewer hearts and do less damage.

      Like

    • No, you’re basically trading 1.5 seconds of movement time, bind immunity and a better active for slightly more damage, a redundant active and some healing. The damage doesn’t matter because your subs generally do the heavy lifting. Even if you pair Izanagi with Myr, the active is still redundant because of Kanna. The healing is a plus, but isn’t really necessary.

      Situationally good, but still overshadowed by Myr. Barring those that can’t clear her dungeon, Myr is still preferred.

      Like

      • It’s worth noting that the static 2x atk makes Sopdet significantly easier. Also, the 2x RCV is actually quite good because it allows you to stall without a cross. Stalling with Myr was sometimes awkward when the enemies hit too hard to reliably heal (~20k per turn), thus forcing you to cross. But crossing activates the full multiplier, which makes it hard to avoid chunking or killing the enemy by accident.

        Like

  4. Ha! they really did pull one on the heroines “evolutions” , thought it could happen, I’m glad to see lots of cards are getting buffed as this could remove dust of some cards in my box, however do you see any thing that can really shake the meta with this?

    Like

    • Pretty easy upgrades imo. The stats alone are worth it. Some people are worried about Haku’s 7-combo awakening and how it’ll affect damage control, but if you’re that worried, you don’t have to fully awaken her. I won’t blame people for wanting to keep her in her awoken form, though. I’m not fully aware of the implications of the sub-attribute change, but it seems like it’d be fairly negligible.

      If you also have Aizen and only one each, I’d keep them awoken, though. The stats are good, but not necessary.

      Like

        • Assuming you’re referring to “top tier” teams, then no, not really. However, Pandora is apparently slated for a revo. With Astaroth getting a revo, we can reasonably expect Lucifer to get one soon, too. Revos haven’t exactly been gamebreaking up to now, if you where trying decide on whether to pull the trigger (presumably on your Pys), it might be smart to wait a couple weeks and see what happens?

          Like

  5. The Heroine REM evos were so incredibly lazy. I know Gungho makes some questionable decisions, but how do you squander hype THAT badly? They announced five months (or whatever) in advance, “Hey, next time these brand new cards come back, they ALL get uvos!” And then we get….one extra awakening per card and a marginal LS? I mean at least they got new art, and most of these cards are cheerleaders anyway, so maybe that’s why Gungho figured it was ok, but come on. Not to mention how absurd it is that you need to revo them.

    As annoying as that is though, I think the “buff” that really upsets me are the Valk buffs. Ever since the Ninja and Wizard series got their double killers, I’ve been anticipating the day when Gungho finally remembered the Valks and gave them something similar (and better! Since they’re 6*!)
    Instead, we get 7c, which makes no sense on a non-combo-oriented card that also has no TEs. But okay, they got two more awakenings! Maybe at least one of those will be a TE! Nope, random resist (really??? the laziest awakening ever?) and Guard Break, which I’m pretty sure is arguably worse than autoheal. Autoheal has extra animation every turn, but at least it does something, whereas Guard Break never does anything, ever. Would giving them SB, SBR, Devil Killer have broken the game? Jesus Christ, I’d take an Attack Stat Boost awakening over 7c and Guard Break.

    I never get *that* upset about things GH does (I don’t think I’ve ever ranted here before) but seriously, what the fuck.

    Folders are super cool, and Satsuki getting that 4th TPA is awesome, and THANK GOD Verdandi won, but man, it is really hard to get excited over a thousand mediocre buffs/evos. I’d much prefer they stick to the formula of smaller but more significant announcements. And fire whoever thought up the Heroine buffs 😡

    Like

  6. Hey Setsu, Would love to hear your opinions on RSakuya. Kind of expected a combo scaling shield but they went full glass cannon instead. Do you see any way that she’d be viable or any way to salvage this? I was thinking about having some shields to form a sort of system since she has such a ridiculous multiplier.

    Like

    • I think for the effort required her multiplier isn’t that great. Running both quad color and combo matching is brutal. It was great back in the day, but nowadays that’s way too much effort for too little return. At this point, Anubis or Bastet are much better.

      Like

  7. You were right, yomi is so much worse than her New Years counterpart :(.

    But you said you are going to be using Mito a lot, what for? Devil rush ganesha farming?

    Like

  8. Anubis getting buffed to a 7-turn active, 8-combo activation, and 1.5x rcv on active is pretty nice. Probably not enough to move him up the tiers but still nice.

    Like

  9. And suddenly I don’t mind that my free heroine roll was Kuvia!

    I’m pretty hype for Astaroth personally but I’ve always had a soft spot for her.

    Like

  10. GZL picking up two fire resists lets him swap in for lifive on puppeteer immunity cheese Minerva team? Both have an SBR, and two resists. GZL is dragon type, so Minerva leader skill applies. Has better TPA and two baked in skill boosts versus lifive eventual haste. Seems like between the GZL skill boosts and the one tacked on to puppeteer, immunity cheese team gets off the ground in the dangerous early floor stall turns a touch faster. I think it’s likely a mild upgrade, but not sure. Have me eye out for anything in the 55 that should happen to end up with 2+ resists and an SBR as being at least candidate consideration.

    It’s probably better to just fair fight a3 briskly with Aizen or RaDra, it sometimes I just want to dial a farm run in while mostly watching Netflix, so have been ambivalently considering spending spare MP on a puppet and pulling the immunity cheese trigger.

    Like

  11. I think after the stream I’ve decided to main Anubis.

    After the stream that announced his revo, I wrote in my analysis on reddit that I was disappointed in him because they didn’t fix him and that he could have had rcv. I was called stupid for it apparently but here it is. And they did one better and made him start at 8 combo which is huge. Actually didn’t even realize he started at 8 till I took him into arena for a spin. It’s crazy really. Thoughts of Anubis maybe breaking back into the tier list (though not S tier like he once was, of course)? I think he can now that he has some solid damage control (9x for sopdet) and the like.

    Like

    • I actually like Anubis a lot now. I always thought he looked pretty good, but that was with Reco doing the puzzling so I sort of dismissed his viability even though he was running a pretty neat team (auto-heal-based, which isn’t needed as much anymore with the RCV buff). Which was both right and wrong, but now with the various buffs (not forgetting the past one where his active clause now affects all attributes), even mediocre players have a chance of activating him at a decent rate and staying alive while doing so.

      He’s already on the fringes of the tier lists, so it wouldn’t surprise me if he moved up. Competition is steep, but I’d like to see the JP lists give him some recognition.

      Like

  12. Was hoping to see some much needed solo-play incentives added but instead they introduce 3 player co-op. Huge disappointment. Outside of that, nice to see some buffs and evos coming to some neglected cards.

    Like

    • I’d like some solo incentives as well, but I think there’s a decent chance 3P could be a neat play mode, largely reliant on how good and quick the matchmaking is. I’m very curious to see what GungHo does with it.

      Like

      • I’ll have to hold out and see what they do with it, but at the moment 3P sounds awful. No HP benefit, no leader skill benefit, no team skill boosts, no badges. It’s like Team Challenge mode but 2/3 of the time you don’t control your own fate.

        Maybe they’ll do something to make it interesting, but at the moment it seems like a mode where it takes 3x as long to clear a dungeon, I get to interact with the game less, but there are more active skills that can be used. However, very unlikely that a skill can be used more than once.

        Like

        • Seems like I slightly misunderstood how it works? Looks like it’s really 3 people playing the same as solo mode, but switching off turns. I thought it’d have some weird leader pairing, but without the leader skills.

          Rather it looks like you take your team with your choice of friend leader into the 3P game and the other players do the same. You’re each playing effectively ‘solo’ but only take every third turn with your team. Still seems strange to me since I already don’t like waiting for the switch team animation & other players turn.

          Like

          • Yeah, that’s the impression I got. If the other players die you can still continue (and presumably get whatever rewards there are for yourself).

            I’m waiting until more details are released before passing judgment. I’m hoping it’ll be a good game mode.

            Like

  13. Is Ilmina’s evo also a regular one or is that one a true ult? Seeing how it completely changes her kit, it would make sense if you could revert the evo if needed.

    Like

  14. Setsu what do you use Mito so much for? ALB farming? I have her but I’m curious what dungeons she would see use during farming.

    Like

    • I don’t use her that much, which was part of the point. The only card I foresee using a lot is Meridionalis, but, yes, Mito is used for ALB farming which way more than any of the other Heroine cards will see use by me.

      Like

  15. I admit that I’m most excited about revo Bastet. I would be about Anubis if I had one.

    Activating at 4 combos and scaling to 8 with the high HP subs that green has access to as well as the RCV on use? That’s a nice combo. I will likely have a team with 38-40k HP with great RCV and access to grodin dragon uevo as well as ragdra. A Meimei being slated to get a revo as well will be amazing. Meimei with 2 TPA and 7c awakening is going to hit like a beast.

    As someone who just bought grodin dragon as well to lead with I’m glad for this stream. And who knows what’s going to happen with Verd, I have 3.

    Sad like others are tho that solo play isn’t seeing any benefits. Will wait to see more about 3p mode.

    Cecil also gets some buffs via Satsuki uevo. Team will get another 1600HP on my lineup with two 4 TPA subs.

    Like

      • Besides RaDra? 🙂

        Make Hathor scale on 5-6 colors for whole team, not just 7c awakes. Give us a lead that’s based on skill. 5-6 colors for 8-10x with 35% shield when matching 5 colors.

        I really wish GH would go the route of rewarding skill with defensive multipliers. Whether it be combos for a shield like NY Yomi, or the aforementioned hypothetical lead above. Make a REM lead better than the new Volsung and we’ll be happy I think.

        Imagine an unbindable lead that gave you the ability to make shields on combos or color matching. Scale the shield on number of color combos so that you can plan around it.

        Then give them competitive damage to some of the top rainbow leads.

        Now that team will be able to clear the hardest dungeons in the game and your matching style will depend on how many combos you want to hit that turn, when you want to go for kill shots and you can bring offensive changers to play defensively.

        Like

  16. I still wonder why they decided to remove attacker type fron satsuki as I think she could be a solid sub for D.Athena despite of her water breaking skill.

    Like

  17. Setsu, what are your opinions on the Zaerog infinity buff? Do you think he will push more aizen teams to just multi farm all day?

    Like

    • I’m not entirely sure why having a multi boost would be a positive for Aizen? Or, as you seem to be implying, would incentivize co-op play more than it already is. I’m curious to know exactly why you think that’s the case.

      In co-op, you don’t necessarily need the extra stats and in certain team compositions the extra damage can make absorb shields awkward (not saying impossible, but you do have to take care to make sure most of your cards’ ATK is on a similar level for the most consistent results). That being said, I’m not saying it’s a bad thing, either. It really depends on your team comp.

      Like

      • I see your point. That makes sense. I guess that would mean you could bring less orb enhances (basically escha) for things like super ult YomiDra or Revo Persephone if you wanted more dmg control?

        Like

  18. what are your thoughts on the revo Yomi? Do you think gungho might change her to be closer to her new year counterpart if enough people complained? Did people complain? I awokened her too late, after the hype for her had died down and I want to use her again so badly but seeing as she is a glass cannon.. i just have easier and more powerful options. My yamamato spoiled me hahaha…

    Like

    • Seems unlikely that she’ll get any huge buffs. People expecting anything close to her NY version were out of their minds; using an 8-star seasonal as a projection for a 5-star pantheon card makes no sense. If she got a buff close to the level of revo Bastet or Anubis, that’d be pretty good. As a s sub, she’s possibly one of the best stat sticks for Aizen teams, too, with the only d/b card with more HP being Satan and no other having more weighted stats. I think she’s plenty good as is.

      Like

      • That’s true but if you look at Christmas gremory she’s practically identical with normal gremory. Same with Halloween kali and Halloween… I don’t remember the gentlemen name. Don’t forget school sakuya or any of the eschamlmis or wedding gadius. All are very similar to their original form. new years yomi is significantly better then her original counterpart more so than any other 8 start so it makes sense people would hold on to hope like that.

        I guess teacher kali is better than dark kali as a leader… but I can’t think of anyone else haha

        Like

        • You’re comparing apples and oranges. Not only are all of your examples are either extremely rare or MP cards, you’re blatantly ignoring all the bad cases on the other side of things like June Ra and Summer Lakshmi (okay, you mention Academy Sakuya, but that only proves my point, not yours). The gap between a seasonal 8-star and a pantheon 5-star are much further apart than any of those. You’re also not giving revo Yomi enough credit.

          Like

          • Sorry I thought we were only looking at seasonal 8 stars and comparing since yomi is an 8 star. It’s true that summer myr and the gentle lady are technically not 5 star base eggs. I guess the truest comparison would have to be seasonal eight stars based on rem 5 stars and that leaves the options to Halloween kali, wedding gadius, Christmas Sonia, Academy sakuya, beach metatron (tho that might be a 7 star base), new years ameterasu, and finally the new years yomi. Sorry if I missed some. I’ll assume the Christmas gremory the Christmas kali the new years kanna and summer and June eschamlmis will be a different scale since these are 6 base stars rem. Thinking on it now new years yomi isn’t purchasable like the rest so I guess gung-ho made her immensely different than the others for that reason. The other purchasable ones even though 8 stars are not that mich better than their full evolved 5 star counterpart so i and most likely many others assumed that the new and improved revo yomi would match the immensely better new year yomi. you’re right tho… I’m probabaly not giving revo yomi enough credit.

            Like

  19. Hey Setsu, Just wanted to hear your thoughts on Romia.

    Since Romia got pretty much what she needed as both a leader and sub she seems a much better card now, not amazing, but alright.

    I’m mostly interested in her viability as a lead though. I’m not sure if a dark or green team would be better. With the Bastet and Anubis buffs, how do you think a pairing with one of them would fair? Would this open up Noctis as a decent pairing as well? Awoken Kushinada also doesn’t seem too bad of an idea either.

    Like

    • My opinion is biased because I dislike 7×6 boards. Basically what the expanded boards represent is like a 30-40% (I think?) increase in overall combo damage as well as beneficial side effects like greater skyfall chance (well, sometimes beneficial), decreased orb troll chances for color match leads and increased space to fit same-color matches. However, one thing most of these benefits rely upon is player skill. I don’t know about you, but I still can’t full combo all 6×5 boards even with all the random TEs in the game nowadays. So, this part of me wants to say: just run the standard 6×5 leader pairs.

      I’m not convinced Romia is worth running as a leader pair regardless. Bastet doesn’t really need the expanded board since she does enough damage without it and doesn’t necessarily need it for activation. Anubis and Kushi could benefit, but lose the bind immune leaders that are one of their main selling points (which is particularly important for wood teams in Arena). I guess leads like Noctis could benefit, but pairing his already restrictive leader skill with Romia’s doesn’t sound fun. I’m not saying you can’t find success pairing various leads with Romia, but, in my opinion, it doesn’t seem worth the work.

      Like

Comments are closed.